You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BREAKING: AI Takes Over Steemit

in #funny7 years ago

Welcome to my club! Just the other day I had a very long discussion with one of the witnesses about bots and although he thinks vote-buying is not ideal, still supports it. I see these bots as a real threat to this platform and I am thrilled to see more people are starting to see it from my own perspective. I made an article some time ago that urged people to stop voting for witnesses that support these vote-buying bots and ultimately, to just stop using the bots themselves. I have never used a vote bot and refuse to do so. If nobody used these bots, they would cease to exist simply because they would have become extinct.

This platform has much potential but is also vulnerable to many factors. How we humans choose to use the platform will ultimately determine its future.

Up-voting comments is also one of the things I advocate for. If we can change people's mindset into making this platform about gifting rather than taking, then we have come a long ways into creating the utopia I had envisioned when I joined Steemit.

Sort:  

I've been spending most of my time in the comments lately. I'm more interested in socializing than blogging right now, and that's mainly due to the fact that quality content seems to get buried among thecspam posts. I feel like my time is better spent finding and supporting content creators who represent what I'd enjoy seeing more of on Steemit.

It's really disheartening to see that the bots that were meant to support minnows and give us a foothold among the dolphins and whales are now being exploited by unscrupulous users. I'm not a big fan of discord or I'd ask @minnowsupport and @aggroed about some of the content that bot has been regularly upvoting that is very little more than spam or copy-pasta. Rewarding those behaviors doesn't actually help minnows, it just encourages us to pick up bad (but apparently lucrative) habits. Or become skeptics. I've obviously chosen the latter.

My experience here has discovered that I make just slightly over 70% of my rewards from comments anyway, so commenting is actually a great thing to be doing right now. Plus it grows your followers!

Be flexible and be persistent.

As on person said, perhaps he is just a pebble on the mountain-side, but it just might be him that is the difference between a landslide and slope stability. Each of us does make a tiny difference. Lead by example and surely some will follow.

hard to stop human greed I suppose -

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30