How to Be a Korean Gangster (HanSpot Episode 3)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

Happy weekend Steemians! I've got a fun one for this episode – How to incorporate the word “gangster” in your everyday vocabulary.

Subverting a Social Representation

Just like in english, the Korean word for gangster “Kkang-peh” (깡패) isn't the most positive of terms. In Korean the word specifically means “hoodlum” and is synonymously used with imagery of old-type gang members that were prevalent in early South Korean development.

Parents use the term as more of a warning to children. “You need to study and turn out like these other Kkang-peh.” The word is employed as an abstract warning for those who aren't diligent, waste time, and live aimlessly. Needless to say, the Korean image of success is the complete opposite of what a gangster is.

But of course, South Korean society is diversifying at an alarming rate and many are tired of the reticent, tight-collared, and studious expectation for general society. What better way to push back other than re-imagining the use of the word Kkang-peh in daily life?

Aspiring to Gangsterism

I was amazed to discover that Koreans don't use “gangster” to describe a type of person. Instead, it's become a way to describe something impressive!

Tomorrow, I'll go into the specifics of how the term is precisely used in daily life but until then, here are some snapshots of the fun ways Kkang-peh ---

비주얼 깡패 – Visual Gangster

맛 깡패 – Taste Gangster

어깨 깡패 – Shoulder Gangster

follow me @hansikhouse! | design collective @hitheryon

* bringing to you creative and cultural analysis of the world *

+ join Hansik House on Facebook!

Sort:  

Haha great article!

Haha, that's how america used gangster back in the 90s

aka my middle school days listening to Britney Spears.............

This post was 증기 ... 깡패 !! ...?

(so gangsta. resteemed.)

Thanks bro 깡패!

This was a Kkang-peh article!

Hahaha I'm so humbled that my podcast is having an effect... =D

I got to know the Buddhist Korean community in Gresham Oregon. They welcomed me, a wild eyed hillbilly into their community center and helped me learn to control my mind. Their monks and nuns showed me what compassion was all about by accepting me in all my crazy wild ways. Now I love kimchi and all your food and crazy folklore. I never learned Korean though, I studied Buddhism with Sunim for almost 3 years!

한국을 알리는 한식하우스!
추천한다. 당신.최고

ㅎㅎㅎ 감사합니다!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41