What is it like being a dad?

in #funny8 years ago

Whenever someone asks me what it’s like being a father, I always give the same response. I tell them, “It is awesome! It is simply the best thing in the world… as long as you are ready for it.” (My answer may have differed on days when my infant son pissed in my face while changing his diaper).



Being “ready for it” may not be as simple as it sounds. Over the past 11 years, I have started to get an understanding of just exactly what “being ready for it” entails. I say that I have started to get an understanding because my kids aren’t teenagers yet. I still have no idea if I’m ready for that… or if anyone ever can be.

I waited until I was 33 to become a parent because I knew I wasn’t ready before that. Why? I still wanted to have a completely different kind of fun. I wanted to go to clubs twice a week, and go out drinking with my friends, and play video games until 7:00 AM before going to sleep for the day. I wanted to go to every movie that even slightly interested me, go out to dinner at restaurants without crayons and kiddie menus, and swear as much as I wanted at my television and the stupid referees and players who inhabited it.

So what is it like being a dad? Well you see…

Never mind. Watch this video. It explains it all.

Credits 1, 2

Sort:  

Hah!! I don't think I was ready to be a dad until my sons left the house!!

Something tells me I'm about 5 years away from the true test... Teenagers!

I did both great and screwed up when they were teenagers. We did some great things together. But I got busy and didn't spend enough time with them during about 2 years. They grew up too much during that time.

Lol. This is funny:)

Yeah these guys did a really great job. I think the guy on the lawnmower is my favorite.

I'm proud to be a father. It's one of the best feelings to be a dad :D

Then you sir were clearly ready! Nothing I have ever done has been as fun as watching my kids have fun.

Agree with all you say :D
Cheers!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.17 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05