Teacher in a box.

in #funny6 years ago

Wow. My last couple of posts have been pretty heavy. I think it may be time to lighten the mood a little.

So today I present…

The time I taught a class from inside an elevator!



Did I mention I don't do very well sitting still?


Like all of my teaching stories, this is 100% true. Time combined with numerous retellings of the story may have lead to a little poetic license, but I swear it is as minimal as possible.

Every year, I set up a "lab" in our school's auditorium. The premise is that our class has stumbled upon an archaeological dig of a Stone Age village. I use the auditorium because the stage provides for a wide open space on which to set up different stations, it is usually cold and the lighting is adjustable. Therefore, I can simulate the feeling that the class has entered a chilly, dark cave.

The stations include a cooking area, garbage dump, tool making spot, a ceremonial site and... a dead body.

The dead body is a reject skeleton from our biology department, but if the kids ever ask where it came from I answer "It is the last student who asked too many questions about skeletons" or "I'm not allowed to talk about it ever since... the incident." (I always use very dramatic air quotes when saying "the incident".)

Please, don't worry, the kids know I am kidding... or am I?

Anyway, I mentioned I set this all up on a stage right? Well stages are usually raised off the ground (I think that may be an essential element). In order to get on the stage, one might need to walk up some stairs. I am a special education teacher. Do you know what special education teachers have? Students with special needs! Sometimes these needs require the use of a wheelchair... that can't climb stairs!




It was not until Bill entered the room in his electric wheelchair that I remembered I would need to find a way to get him on the stage in order to participate in the activity. Now I would like to say that this is because when I interact with Bill I don't even notice he is in a wheel chair. I am so enlightened and awesome that I only see the person and not his disability. But in reality, it was because I am a freaking idiot! I screwed up.

As soon as Bill entered, I suppressed a curse directed at myself and looked at my teaching assistant. Because she is awesome and not a freaking idiot, she "reminded" me that there was an elevator in the hallway. I ran to locate it. I did. Although it required a key, I was sure Bill had one. He did.

When the elevator door opened, I noticed it seemed like it was rather dated and had not been used in a while. There was also no light.

Being the hero I am, I decided I should try it out before letting a 14 year old kid get into an ancient, dark elevator. I inserted the key and the door closed. Using my phone as a flashlight, I found the button, pressed it and began my five foot journey upward (Ummm it was only a stage. There were like six steps). Two and a half feet later, the elevator stopped.

This time, I could not suppress the curse. I did manage to keep it quiet and avoid the the queen-mother of dirty words, the "F-dash-dash-dash" word ... so I had that going for me.




I didn't even say "fudge".

While my teaching assistant searched for someone from the maintenance department, I did the only thing I could do. I taught. But before I began, the adult who works with Bill yelled, "You know I can just help him up the stairs and he can sit in a chair on the stage". Great idea! (Wish I had it 5 minutes ago).

I instructed (screamed) for all of my students to come close to the elevator. From inside the pitch black, closet-like space I shouted for them to take one of the gold worksheets located on the stage and to begin by sketching the area on the back of the page and then report back to the elevator door for more instructions. Although the drawing actually was part of the assignment, I was really hoping it would kill enough time for my rescuers to arrive. It did not.

Next, I began yelling questions. I told them that no one should touch any objects in the stations and then asked them why. A few of them shouted answers to the closed elevator door. Eventually, after a few more guided questions, the students figured out that if you move something at an archeological dig, you could change the story. Next I explained that their job was to figure out what the people of the village used each area for. They should write down their guess and include the evidence they used to make their determination. Finally, they should try and determine the cause of death of the skeleton.

One clever killed yelled, "He got trapped in an elevator!"




Always have the safe search on when you search "rim shot".

Very funny.

No seriously, that was very funny. I was impressed.

Because I knew the adult working with Bill would ensure that all the students were safe (and I really had no other choice) I sat down in the dark, motionless elevator and waited for kids to yell questions at the closed door. They did. I usually responded with another question that helped lead them to their own answer.

Just as I was contemplating using my signal-less phone like the ball Steve McQueen tosses against his cell wall in The Great Escape, I heard the familiar voice of John from maintenance... A.K.A. "my hero". He said, "Did anyone hit the button on the elevator door on the stage?"




Does the Iphone have an App to make it bounce?

They had not.

As soon as they did hit that clearly marked "open" button, the elevator sprung to life and quickly finished the last 2 1/2 feet of its journey.

The kids all cheered as I stepped out of my former prison. Through my squinting eyes, I could see they weren't cheering at all. They were laughing. But that is ok. So was I. If you can't laugh at a guy who just taught an entire lesson from a box, what can you laugh at in school?

Although I love telling this story, to this day, I am 100% convinced that someone on the outside was recording this. They could have gotten me out at any point but they wanted to see how long I would keep soldiering on. I imagine that at some party (that I am not invited to), several of my colleagues all sit around a screen and laugh at "the teacher in a box."

Nah.

They would do that to my face... and I would love it!

Images 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Sort:  

Oh my goodness this is just amazing, your descriptive level of situations Ready like off the chart, that's why I honestly begin to agree you're a special teacher, and well Bill seem to need them, in getting into Those old elevator, so you say
I use to be a teacher too, and all my life teaching I tend to get all you know choked up, it's very difficult being the intuitive teacher it means you have to explain and narrate a lot of awkward things, some special students really needs them.
What can I say, I guess you're endowed whether in a box or podium 😀😀😀😀😀😀

Thanks. Bill is a great kid!

I loved reading your story, you got me a few smiles, it was good that everything went well and everyone laughed a lot with that little scare. It is a good anecdote to tell at any time.

It was very interesting how you looked for the way that being trapped in the elevator did not prevent you giving the class to the children although they already suspected that something was happening, I wish all the teachers had that desire to teach and made those sacrifices for their students like you did.

The show must go on!

Very inspiring once! Effective language makes me feel like I'm in audio-visual media. Indeed sometimes the teacher ate the heart. So I really appreciate the teacher. Why? In my opinion, the teacher is not printed, but really the soul in the teacher as an educator. So it's getting harder! So the government should pay attention to the teacher sincerely.

Absolutely priceless!! I can't say that I have been in that "tight" a situation yet while teaching but as I tell people all the time, teaching is one part planning and two parts improve. Things go wrong all the time and if you can't adjust your plan or roll with the punches then you are going to be pulling your hair out from the roots. Great job finding a way to "think" outside the box you just happened to be trapped in. Too funny! Thanks for sharing, I know I am laughing.

The show must go on!!!

This was fun to read. At first I thought if this was a prank on you. It seemed like it. But I got to realize that they were kids and any of the students could have just switched the button unkowningly.
So what was the feeling in there? Air tight?

LOL. Yeah it was tight. I think I kept teaching just to keep my mind off of being stuck.

Oh I totally get that. You were doing the mind over matter thing.

Excellent story and excellent moral! I guess you did not see the button because you were delivered giving a great class to your students :-D

Its awesome that you could still be a teacher even in a very inappropriate situation. That requires skill honestly. But actually if i were your student, i would have cheered/laughed at the situation, i mean the button was right there lol, thanks for sharing your experience, just maybe it was payback for the lies you told them about the skeleton

Yeah I guess I had it coming.

Did I hear whoa!😂😂 in the process of testing out the elevator before your student uses it, you got stuck 😂 That's kind of you to have decided to use it before your student. It shows you cared a lot for your students.

Being able to teach from your "prison" is another fact I found impressive. That's definitely going the extra miles

An awesome compilation.

@eurogee of @euronation community

You know really well how to handle every situation with humor and knowledge at the same time. I see you are not posting here too frequently but as you post, your posts are worth 100 posts by daily users here.

Oh man this was such an experience! I love how you told this story and

had to laugh at this part

The dead body is a reject skeleton from our biology department, but if the kids ever ask where it came from I answer "It is the last student who asked too many questions about skeletons" or "I'm not allowed to talk about it ever since... the incident." (I always use very dramatic air quotes when saying "the incident".)

Then the facepalm moments and the whole laughing about afterwards,

you sound like such a fun teacher.

Thanks. There is never a dull moment in the classroom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63