A Donut Tree

in #funny7 years ago

While I was catching up on facebook today, someone had posted a picture of a Christmas tree at a bakery. The ornaments on the tree were fancy decorated donuts. donut tree.jpg

That picture immediately took me back to a story my dad used to love to tell. He was something of a practical joker. One day he and Mom went to their Sunday School class and there on the coffee bar, someone had not just brought donuts for the day, they had displayed them in style. The donut donor had placed a tree branch into a big pot of dirt and tied the donuts to the limbs. Everybody got a big kick out of the unusual presentation.

Not to be outdone, the next Sunday my dad went in early enough to plant his own dirt-filled pot holding a tree branch. He had tied Cheerios Oat Cereal on the limbs, and then slipped out, waiting for the class to enter. Once he thought most of the members were seated, he made his grand entrance.

Of course, the conversation had been all about the strange Cheerios tree. So now Dad got to tell his story:
"Well, now, I really like donuts, so I put on my thinking cap. If donuts grow on trees like fruit, fruit have seeds. So I saved a bite of my donut from last week. I took it home and cut it open. Sure enough, that bite of donut was just filled with donut seeds, so I wanted to share the wealth with all of you."

And then the fight started. cheerios.jpg

This picture was taken by my dear husband. He used our little Canon Sure Shot Elph 115.

Sort:  

Hi zep good to see you again. It appears you are a connoisseur of fine cuisine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55