My student wanted to do a fireman! :D

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

My student said he wanted to do the fireman. Yep, you read it right.

Being an English teacher has its advantages and disadvantages. Definitely, one of the best things is the fact that there is always something to talk about. There are countless funny, sometimes unbelievable stories. I even started analysing some of the people's points of view. However this time I will tell you about the funny situation that happened. Definitely a funny story that I sometimes use as an anegdote when warning my students against the traps that English language has to offer.

There was a dialog about jobs and dreams for the future, past tense of the word "want". We were practising the question:

  • What did you want to do when you were a child?

Before I managed to explain, that it's essential to use the verb "to be" when talking about specific professions, one of my students said happily:

  • I wanted to do a fireman!!!

I couldn't help myself and bursted with laughter, covering my face. Of course, my poor students couldn't understant why this amused me so much.

I had to tell them the meaning of the phrase "to do someone", however, this was one of the funniest things I encountered, and they of course learned their lesson.

8de3311c640b9a478bd90922da88b420--firefighters-girlfriend-hot-firemen.jpg

Being an English teacher is so edifying and entertaining :)

Please, like this article, and tell me your funny stories in comments :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41