Cell Phone Tower Anecdote

in #funny7 years ago

I'm feeling kind of low right now, so I'll try to lighten myself up with an anecdote about a friend of mine from Olanchito, which is a town which is in the middle of banana, cattle and agricultural country. It's not too large maybe 60 or 80,000 inhabitants and it has the feeling of a small town. This is the place where I got out of high school in the late 70's it was really small then about 10,000 people.

Well anyway I have a friend whose family business was a two story wooden hotel right near the railroad station, it had a nice amount of business but then the railroad went bust, and it then became a motel, you know for one night stands. Which is what it is today, it is run by the only son the family had, he is a little older than I am so he is nearly 60.

Anyway, a couple of years back the cell phone companies started looking for small parcels of land on which to put their communications towers, they pay $500.00 a month per parcel, which down here isn't that bad. Since my friends land is in the older section of town it has of course a large yard, maybe a quarter of a block, and one of the cell companies offered him the $500.00 monthly for using a piece of it.

Well my friend had heard some weird things about the waves sent by these towers so he asked a brother in law who is a lawyer in Tegucigalpa what he thought of it. The guy told him that personally he wouldn't do it as he thought it was dangerous and could really produce cancer.

So my friend declined the offer, but the cell company immediately made the same offer to his next door neighbor and this guy accepted so the tower was put up and it is working, about 15 feet from where it would have been in my friend's land.

When he told me this he said, Screw my brother in law, I'm not even getting the damned $500.00 and I'm still going to get cancer from that tower.

Sort:  

Good post thank you for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80