They say you can't hide from God and your neighbors

in #funny7 years ago

You can't hide from God and your neighbors!

This is an old wise saying that I've heard for many times but it totally fits for my old neighbor!

She's an old lady who lives alone in a big house next to mine. She is rarely visited by her family and she spends whole time on her balcony watching what neighbors are up to. She is kinda s spy! She knows everything about everyone and everything what happened, no matter if it was day or night, she knows exactly the hour, minute and second when something strange happened in the neighborhood.

My father used to call her NEIGHBORHOOD WATCH.

He claimed that she has a book in which she writes all about everybody here and notes about strange events around. He was kidding that who ever puts hands on that book would be a powerful man.
She has quiet a view from her balcony to have control over my house and other neighbors's houses, the road, the side street, the mini-market and the beach. She passed 80 but her mind is clear and her sight is sharp.

She knows exactly the time when I got out on my balcony to smoke a cigarette this morning. She knows how many cigarettes I smoked 16 days ago! She knows with how many bags I came from market, when I got out of my backyard and when I came back. She knows how many people visit me or anyone else who lives in my house! She knows the details about how many mail the postman put in my postbox.

I don't know what she does with all that data that she collects, but the only time in a day when I feel free from this BIG BROTHER is between 7 AM and 9 AM when she goes to the city market with her larg bag and doesn't allow anyone to help her, because she's afraid of theft. So I took this photo from behind when I saw her on the city market:

Not long ago, I was really pissed off by what she does every day, but then, one morning, she told me:

"You left your car unlocked last night and some teenagers were in your backyard at 3 AM and they opened your car's door searching for money! I chased them away and they didn't come back!"

From that day, I respect her as a neighborhood guardian! I wish her a long life and we'll all be safe! Thank you!

Sort:  

very good post
Thanks for story with us

HAhahahaha, thanks ;) ;) ;)

Good old old people ey

Awesome little story, I really enjoyed reading it!

Sadly, in the village I live right now there aren't old people like this any more. Most of them are just trying to find new information about you so they can talk behind your back and gossip about what you did and laugh at you.

It's funny how I keep hearing people around me complaining about "the new generation" and how bad it is, when sometimes old people can be the same.

But again, it's nice to find out there are still people like this in the world, that despite their old age they are still willing to do nice things for others.

Very nice post, thank you for sharing your story with us, and I wish you all the luck :)

Thanks for this nice comment! Gossips are all around and almost all older folks are talking nonsense and I can often hear things about myself that I haven't known at all! But not this old lady! She's pretty direct in communication, she will also tell you if somebody talks bad about you!

Yeah, nice to see people like this till exist.

I don't like gossip at all, a few years ago apparently everyone except me knew I was in a relationship with a girl I hardly knew, and she also had no idea, until someone I knew asked me if it was true.

It turned out literally everyone around me thought I was together with that girl just because a few old people decided to say that. It's funny sometimes to see how a stupid little rumor can make people believe all kind of things about you.

LOL, you could pay that girl to walk with you in front of them holding your hand... and tomorrow, you would hear the news that you broke up :)

Yeah, that's why I decided a long time ago not to care about what people say about me, and because of that these days I just have fun whenever someone I know tells me about what people think about me and what other stories they invent.

Looks like you have a fan xD BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING YOU. Its kinda creepy but at least something good came out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74