🌊How 'Bout Them Joggers?🏄steemCreated with Sketch.

in #funny7 years ago

Yet another true surfing story, drawn from my years of adventure and meditation.

"The only reason I would take up jogging is so that I could hear heavy breathing again." - Erma Bombeck

I have a really hard time understanding joggers, don’t you?

You know, those people that run and, more often than not, claim it is some kind of fun?

Can You Figure Out Those *Joggers?*

Can You Figure Out Those Joggers?
Photo courtesy of Clem Onojeghuo and http://unsplash.com

Okay, maybe you do some jogging from time to time.

I guess that's none of my business. But, here’s the thing I just can’t wrap my mind around:

Often, while I’m gently bobbing a ways out from shore, relaxed, waiting for the next good set wave, I look toward the beach and see some poor soul, jogging by.

He might be running up the road, or on the sidewalk. Sometimes he may be on the beach. He could be running north or maybe he's headed south.

There he goes,

pounding along the pavement or the sand, sweating and dripping and stinking. Most of the time, he has the most excruciating expression of pain and agony on his face that you would ever want to see. His joints are taking a beating. Let’s face it, a jogger can be the very picture of misery.

What's Up With Those *Joggers?*

What's Up With Those Joggers?
Photo courtesy of Maarten van den Heuvel and http://unsplash.com

Meanwhile, here I sit, cool and comfortable. At intervals, I am fully engaged in the unmitigated joy of soaring on the crest of a unique, dynamically changing wave. This is perfectly alternated with the short bursts of intensely healthy exercise necessary to paddle back out past the strike zone. Could anything be better?

Here's what I just can't fathom;

These poor joggers are so close to the water! There they go, straining and plodding along, glorious waves in plain sight. It's like those infinitely separated parallel lines in geometry class, or Zeno's paradox, or the two lovers who come forever closer but never meet. For Pete's sake, these blighted souls are a mere stone’s throw from the certainty of the sheer joy, the pure satisfaction, the utter bliss of riding a wave!

At times, I want to shake them!

The Sheer *Joy* of Surfing

The Sheer Joy of Surfing
Photo courtesy of Trevor Cleveland and http://unsplash.com

I want to just grab them by the shoulders, look them in the eye, and shout,

"Are you totally blind?"

How can they possibly come so close and yet completely miss what I revel in day by day? This is surely one of the great mysteries of the universe! And from where I sit, it is a very sad thing indeed.

The great mysteries of the universe...

The great mysteries of the universe...
Photo courtesy of Greg Rakozy and http://unsplash.com

By the same token,

I often wonder how anyone can live in a fabulous universe, beautifully hand-crafted by Jesus Christ, and blindly slog along day by day, completely missing the joy of life in God’s presence.


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Okay, I up-voted you but I think you're just a tad biased here, my friend. I used to run 10 miles every Sunday and the same amount during the week - my son runs that for fun in BC - he runs marathons and for a challenge, mudders - kind of similar to marine corps training :)
You get a high from running that's probably just as addictive as the one you get from surfing. I don't run any more - I walk with my dog and sometimes with Deb my wife and they take me places. I still get a high, but I think I'm high on sky LOL!!

Thanks for the grudging up vote... Reminds me of your stories without happy endings? ;) Loyalty, and all that...

Damn straight, I'm more than a tad biased! What's that you say? Never surfed? OK then... that explains it... ;)

Seriously, there is no comparison. I've done both. Never again with the "jogging" stuff! ;) Besides, short intense burst exercise is now recognized as superior in every way. :)

Well, there's my opinion... (again!). Obviously, your mileage may vary, my friend John! :)

ha ha...you're entitled :) but I love to run through the chilly woods with dogs...run, run!

jogging on the beach would be nice

Yeah; I'll jog all the way across the beach, right into the water! ;) :D

There is a joke on Jerry Clower's 1984 album "Starke Raving" recorded in Starke, Fla.
The joke is called "joggers" I tried to find it and could not.
I thought you might enjoy this instead.


www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Beszl4JVXw

Hahahahaha! Good laugh, thank you!

I don't recall hearing of Jerry Clower before, but now you've got me interested. I'll have to sample some more. Thanks for sharing!

Cheers, glad you liked it. I used to listen to Jerry Clower all the time when I was a kid. It reminds me of home, far away in time and space.

I am just like you, in that I would much rather be staying cool in the water! I used to be into jogging and bicycling, but I hate being hot. We obviously don't have oceans here in Iowa, but we have ponds, streams, and swimming pools! I'm like a fish - always trying to stay wet (at least in the hot summer)! And yes, it is so common to overlook the beauty of the earth and universe created by the Lord Most High. Any activity that brings us outdoors, whether it be surfing, camping, or jogging, brings us closer to nature and God's creations.

I've thought about how to build wave machines on a lake... Maybe I'll try it one day! Iowa could use some surf parks. I know, because my wife used to live there and I've visited several times.

Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Oh, if only more folk could open their eyes and recognize the hand of the LORD in creation!

HA we have the Ottumwa Beach just 50 miles away. It has a wave pool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58439.16
ETH 2965.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69