Binky: the (anti)social Network

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

Sometimes, useless things are quite interesting, as they expose paradoxes and stupid behaviours we got used to...

Binky is a fairly useless app. It looks like a Facebook/Instagram clone, as it has an endless feed of "posts". You can like things, comment, etc. Except, that the feed is absolute random garbage, and nobody is gonna see your comments anyway. It´s all computer-generated stuff. 

According to the creator: “As soon as I started showing it to people, they said it felt a little bit like a nicotine patch for social media...

And then, the big question: is this really different from the feed of a "real" social network? Is it not random, unwanted garbage in either case?

Another satire app, Cow Clicker, lets you click on a cow every six hours. And earn clicks. And buy premium cows. And so on. Is it less useful or clever than any other facebook game? Good question, if you ask me. 

Binky is available for IoS and Android :-)

Reference article

Sort:  

I left Facebook before I even joined it in 2013...

And then I met Steemit

well, let's just say it makes socializing online educative and worth it

Thanks for sharing!

It looks like a Facebook/Instagram clone, as it has an endless feed of "posts". You can like things, comment, etc. Except, that the feed is absolute random garbage, and nobody is gonna see your comments anyway.

That sounds almost like facebook, sometimes :)

That´s the beauty of it :)

After discovering steemit, my facebook usage has essentially plummeted by at least 300 %.

same for me...

thats why im no longer using facebook and other social media..
right now im so addicted to steemit... hahahaha :)

That's what I'm saying!

"I feel like this is someones commentary on how attached we are to social media" I say, as I sit staring at social media lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81