Lost In Translation: Comedyopenmic 46

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

Living up North has turned me into an analytical being. From the moment I set foot outside my door, I'm faced with cracking the code that is Hausa language. With motorcyclists it's pretty easy, just say "inakwana"(good morning) then "lafiya"(fine) to whatever he replies, however, it gets complicated with bus rides.

I think I've handled myself pretty well considering the circumstances. Sometimes the bus conductor would say something that doesn't have "cudi" (which I suppose means money) in the statement. I'd keep quiet for a while and observe his countenance, if he doesn't look offended then I guess he was talking about something else that I'm quite frankly not interested in. When I'm close to my stop, I say "akway" (which means a lot of things including I have, do you have? and I will stop...) then the name of my stop.
Bus rides are the worst for me, sometimes I'd be on a bus and the everyone but me is fluent in Hausa. Now people around here are very presumptuous, as far as they know, everyone speaks Hausa so you're met with Hausa and not like in a slow paced "you're an outsider" tone, you're thrown straight into the deep end. I hate long bus rides because I always seem like the asshole that doesn't give a shit. Don't get me wrong, I don't give a shit but I'd like to do it willingly. On numerous occasion, there'd be a joke said in Hausa everyone on the bus would be laughing, exchanging banter and just having a good time, and then there'll be me, just sitting there. Sometimes, the punchline would be so funny that the next guy would nudge me on the side like "aye, that shit is fucking ridiculous right?" and all I can do is crack half a smile with that "I don't know" expression on my face.
images (2).png

There was this one time, I sat beside one dude, a real chatterbox, rambling on and on about some shit I don't know about. I didn't know he was talking to me at first, I assumed he was talking to the driver until he turned to me and expected a response and I was like "yeah" and he smirked, shrugged his shoulder and continued talking. At this point, it was too late to back out. My escape from these conversations is "ba Hausa" (no Hausa, indicating I don't speak Hausa) but at this point, it'll be offensive to even use that card. I was sat there, having a "conversation" or at least acting interested and this man was rambling on and on about politics. I know it was politics at this point because somewhere embedded in his statements, he mentioned Buhari. There was no way out now, just keep listening, nodding and hope for a miracle. I got a miracle; another guy in the seat behind either countered or supported his rambling. I can't say, it was all in Hausa and it happened so fast.
images (1).png
I'm surviving and quite frankly, I can't say I've learnt any Hausa other than a few greetings and some profanities that come in handy when I'm clowning. I'm here and I'll learn at some point I guess.

I nominate @anouk.nox and @detlev to make entries for this round.

Sort:  

Hey @belemo,
In an effort to try to give people more transparency and feedback on what our judges think of their posts, we thought we'd run an experiment and give people their score from teh judges.

Your post achieved a score of 3.5/5.

Thanks for the lovely entry to our contest. Now some posts do really well, others not so well, and some could use some improvement. We hope the above feedback is helpful in making you a star.

  • Comedy Open Mic Team

Hi belemo,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

As long as you don't expect me to write it in Hausa, I will try to dig up my funny pants.. must have left it somewhere.. maybe in the bus.. dunno

Posted using Partiko Android

Well shit, anything but hausa please.

Ups, a Job for Detlev. Let me see if I can handle this.

Are there any rules for this or is this just any translation lost story from wherever.

BTW. Where do they talk hausa?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well there's like two basic rules

  1. Include Comedyopenmic and round number(46) in your title and as a tag.
  2. Nominate two people.

Hausa is an indigenous language in Nigeria, there's like 200 different languages in Nigeria, Hausa is one of them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58690.10
ETH 2310.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49