Getting people new to the Cryptocurrency world on-board with Steemit.

in #funny7 years ago

Free Gold2FIXC.png

I am sure I am not the only one that has experienced a little bit of frustration trying to help friends and acquaintances get involved with something truly revolutionary. I tell them hey since you have a blog, IG, FB or any other social media platform why not give Steemit a try. I let them know that the work they do could be rewarded unlike the way it works on other social media platforms. A few sign up and then they get interested in the money and how to gain access to it and I advise them to just power up for now. Some insist they want to try converting it and I let them know the process which seems daunting for some. Sometimes you have to have a little initiative to pick that gold up off the ground! You may even have to bend over to pick it up and put it in your pocket!

Please let me know about your experience inviting new people to Steemit who do not have experience with cryptocurrency. I am interested in both the success and fail stories.

Sort:  

It's a matter of self-motivation to learn and research blockchain concept which many people can't simply understand since it's not on a mainstream media e.g crowd psychology effect. I don't considser Steemit as just another social media website. It's a pure Revolution inside a revolution.

Steemit is social media a currency and a better way to treat people that create content for it. People do not even need to understand blockchain technology only how to use an exchange. I think it helps to understand the technology, but I do not try to overwhelm anyone when they first get started.

I see the same with some people I try to motivate. They always come with strange questions. Mainly because they don't want to change or leave there comfort zone.

Very true, its hard to do something different or think about things differently when you have been brought up doing the same thing all your life.

That picture sums it up perfectly haha

Thanks, glad you can relate. :)

People seem to have a problem with the fact that your posts and comments can be rewarded with coins. A guy told me that it makes it less authentic, but that's bullshit. It just makes creativity and great posts be rewarded how they normally should. I genuinely see bloggers moving here very soon :-)

I agree with you and bloggers moving to this platform just seems like a natural evolution to me. I think social media companies will need to come up with a new model or risk extinction once Steemits concept takes hold.

Invited one friend, he invited one more, so we were 3 and everyone been doing the same over and over again. And so how we were the biggest community out here. Nice post this, but 75% of all other posts are complete garbage out here.

Very nice, have these friends had success on other social media platforms?

Some of them. But Steemit it's all over now. Many of them been stucked, but now all this with Crypto run :) But yeah before facebook.,insta etc., seemed pointless and now you can share, like etc., and at the same time earn money, can't sound any better, right?

Very true, I only ask because people who have done well on other platforms do even better here on Steemit. If they have not been involved with social media content creation before then they have an additional barrier to overcome.

But i think this is time for many people. Unfortunately it is human nature to judge and it is also human nature to follow others like sheep. These two combined= censorship.

Oh, your picture is right on target. If they decide to give it a try they just never get around to it.

So very true

If one platform can do it, then it will be Steemit for sure!
Imagine what Steemit will look/be like when it is fully developed!!!

It pretty amazing in my eyes as it stand now, I hope more people start to realize that soon.

They will, eventualy... ;-)

Not come across this experience yet, but something tells me i will :D

Stick with it and eventually you will

We havn't seen anything yet... Steem is making tons of noise, wait till all the influencers and bloggers get involved.... Steem to the moon!

I am certain of that

Lets make it happen :-)

AHAHAHAHA. I experienced the same thing. Several times. Your artwork is spot on.
I only managed to bring one friend in so far. Hope he'll stick to it, he's a very creative guy.
An other friend who is a very ambitious and extremely talented creator of short films (and also does phantastic photography) still hasn't joined.
Nor have any of my relatives. :c

There seems to be a deep-ingrained scepicism towards "free" money.

Its not so much free money as getting rewarded for thing you are already doing on other sites. I am willing to take on the responsibility of receiving their rewards if they cant deal with it! lol

Yeah, also probably sets off some scam-alerts with people, as it's hard to explain where the money is coming from.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51