Adventures in Pet Sitting - Long Distance Cat Fight

in #funny8 years ago (edited)

This past week I've been shuttling between two homes, almost 20 miles apart and each having a male cat.


I'm sure y'all remember Bubba. He's part of the family that were my first clients, so he's known me 7 years now.

Four years ago I started watching Rosie and Sophie. (You'll remember them from the blizzard episode) Well, Kitten is the inside cat and he rules his domain - loudly. I get talked to from the moment he hears the key in door 'til I'm locking up again.

Even the dogs know to respect his turf. Sophie just ignores him for the most part. Rosie will harass him into playing. I get the feeling he thinks it's undignified and she can't resist the challenge of getting him to react. One of these days I'll get that on video.

This week, however, taught me that Bubba and Kitten were using me as a proxy in a long distance 'claim Aunt Deb' battle. Both of these guys are very affectionate and demand to be the center of attention. Three days into the dualing visits, I noticed Bubba being especially curious about some scents in new spots on me. (I get inspected like this constantly. They want to know what I've been doing.) It dawned on me that those spots were where Kitten had been rubbing against me. Bubba proceeded to try to erase them and 'claim me' back.

For the next four days, Kitten got progressively louder and more demanding of attention - NOW! - and Bubba did his damnedest to practically meld himself to my jacket. When he couldn't get enough of the scent out, I got 'punished' with a nip for bringing that offensive smell in his house. I had to be extra careful and quick as the days went on.

The good news is that I escaped unscathed and the fellas can go back to their normal routine. Whew!


If you've lost a pet recently and would like to have them included in the
Pawprints Keepsake Album, please send up to 3 pictures to:

[email protected]

I will be posting on the plans and steps for that project soon.


Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

Beautiful photos of the kitties.
Those fur-beasties are funny, aren't they? Even my two pups "argue" over who loves me more.

Thank you! Yes, it's amazing how much of their 'language' we can pick up when we're paying attention.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81