If I bought $1000 of XEM 2 years ago...

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

NEM-1.jpg

So with the rise of Alt-coins recently, growing several hundred % each month being the norm, a lot of new people has been drawn in to the world of crypto currency.

stk.jpg

That includes me.

And possibly you as well.

Don't lie.

Saying that, is not hard to imagine a scenario in which you could have done things a bit differently knowing what you know now.

So let's travel to the relatively recent past: MAY 2015.

I was a struggling salary man with no solace or whatsoever other than playing video games after work.

Ways-to-Deal-with-a-Guys-Video-Game-Addiction.jpg

Let's say, for some unknown reason, I bought $1000 worth of this weird new cryptocurrency called XEM.

historical snapshot.jpg

Bitcoin was around $239, and there's a bunch of weird coins floating around the market.

But right down at #24, this coin called NEM captured my interest for some reason.

It felt like someone from a not so distant future is trying to communicate to me that I should buy this.

And so I did.

At $0.000176/XEM, my hard earned $1000 would get me:

xem.jpg

"Well, that's a whole bunch of worthless coins!"

At that point, I wouldn't be completely wrong.

But for some reason, I still bought it, wrote my random 32-character Poloniex password into a piece of paper, put it away, and tried to forget that I just wasted $1000 on some random "internet-money".

frustrated-man.jpg

Fast forward to today, May 2017.

I just stumbled upon that ransom piece of paper and remembered that I do have some random coins hidden away at Poloniex.

At today’s price, that $1000 worth of coins would be:

xem.jpg

That’s almost $1.5 million dollars.

I'M A MILLIONAIRE!

I'm a millionaire before 30 years old! Who would have known?!

Take that dad!

...

Then reality pulled me back.

I was just imagining an alternate reality in which I did something a little different in the past.

I was not a millionaire.

Nothing has changed.

tumblr_makqa5d8Lf1rso0b7.gif

F**K...

Donate Bitcoin

  • 3AuT4ZD4UYHZzGuVLXrdxyn9NK5G6m6hjg

Donate Ether

  • 0x0a96F4Cc4C77De0086091d5BC9623995025646f9

Donate XEM

  • NBPVECGBCOZTB3UWMFUABIN2UQY66DRFHQXYPKHN

Follow, Like and comment for more!

Sort:  

Makes you want to put everything you have in cryptos . Screw working and saving for thirty years!

I remember back in 2008 my Math professor talking about a website or something where you can use your computer's idle resources to solve math problems or such. She said we should check it out. I didn't listen.

That "thing" she was talking about is now called BITCOIN and I'm pretty sure my professor has an island by now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60202.34
ETH 2423.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43