Do you like dark jokes?

in #funny7 years ago

So recently I've been thinking a lot about my sense of humour and the jokes I find funny and is there something wrong with me..... I'll explain what I mean I have a son whose 8 and I have to say I find it really hard to joke with him firstly because I love him ...but he's not very good at telling jokes :) but secondly and more importantly because I have such a dark sense of humour I worry about this a lot I always think why do I find these awful things so funny? I have a big family I have two brothers I'm very close to who also have the same sense of humour so this started me thinking is it a family thing did something depraved n horrible happen to us in our lives n this is how we deal with it ...... no we actually had a great upbringing great parents strong morals fun filled family life so what is it? What makes some people like happy upbeat jokes and what makes some people like dark awful jokes? So I was looking today for a subject to write about here on steemit something I have an opinion about or certain feelings about and I happened to come upon an article about dark humour which I have to say made me feel a lot more at ease about my love of dark humour and I thought I'd share

everyone enjoys a good joke. Whether it comes from watching a funny movie, listening to a comedian, or binge watching cat videos on YouTube (you know who you are).

We all appreciate different types of humor. You could say it comes down to variations in our personality. As it turns out, you can even tell a few things about a person by the types of things they find funny.

A new study revealed some surprising traits of people who appreciated dark humor.

4 Traits of People Who Like Dark Jokes

Psychologists found that participants which rated twisted cartoons touching on morbid topics could be grouped in 3 different categories.

Those groups were separated based on two things. How well they understood dark jokes, and how much they liked it.

The people who comprehended and appreciated the joke most, had these characteristics:

  1. Scored highest on verbal and non-verbal IQ tests
  2. Were more educated
  3. Scored lower on aggression
  4. Had better moods.

Experts also found that age and gender wasn’t a factor. It didn’t matter how old someone was, or whether they were a man or a woman.

But the study implies that people who enjoy darker types of humor are mentally sharp, but also more emotionally grounded.

Many people expect that if you find darker topics funny, it’s because those people might be angry. Even mean. However, this study says that isn’t the case.

So for all of you guys who have a dark sense of humour and love all the sick jokes we shouldn't it turns out there's nothing wrong with us we're pretty god damn awesome! So of course there's no way I can finish this now without Some jokes so here goes

IMG_1310.JPGIMG_1309.JPGIMG_1308.JPGIMG_1311.JPG

Hahaha hope you enjoyed the post guys! :)

Sort:  

Dark jokes are the best! As a family we enjoy the same stuff and I do have the same problem with my 9-year old...but growing up in this family, he'll learn to deal with it!

U know I've actually come to realise the same thing my son will probably grow up and have the exact same sense of humour it's just waiting for him to get old enough so we can share the laughter :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45