funky edits — filters, layers and color

in #funkyedits6 years ago (edited)


Editing a photo can be as simple as uploading a photo to an online app for an instant fun look. Other times it can take more time in PhotoShop or in an online apps that allows for adjustments and artistic creativity.

I made time today to learn how to apply layers while still allowing control of the settings.

I began by taking a photo of Abbey and then I removed the color - black and white with a lot of white so that the effects would impact the white space more predominantly.

original photo

desaturated color

vintage layer

grunge layer and soft lighting adjustments

For the edits, I used Lightroom, Deep Dream Generator and LunaPic.

I found Deep Dream Generator to be too timely - one photo can take 10 minutes for the style to be applied and if I didn't like the outcome I would have to start over tweaking the settings —they don't offer a preview pane before submitting the photo.

LunaPic is not too bad. It allows for some adjustments and creative freedom.

Photoshop or Photoshop Elements will be my go to for future edits. These programs have more options and filters and layers but it can be overwhelming at times. I just have to watch a few more videos to familiarize myself with all this application has to offer.



SettingsValues
CameraNikon D3100
LensAF-S DX NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED VR II
Apertureƒ/5.6
Focal Length200mm
ISO400
Shutter1/640 s
Locationmy backyard


©All rights reserved, 2018


Sort:  

There are some interesting effects out there. I never really played with filters, aside from a few in Google Snapseed and, of course, I used to play with Photoshop a lot. I still haven't found an easy way to pull off sepia, though. You can do it in split toning with Lightroom, but it's not exactly easy. Your "vintage filter" seems to do a decent job, though!

I hope you don't mind, but I ran it through the split toning to see what it would look like:

MNM180527Abby.jpg

It looks like your vintage filter also blurs and adds grain.

Haha, well anyway. Abby looks content, although maybe not too happy to be today's model! Nice composition, though, and great lighting for her poofy fur.

I never mind when you guys edit my photos....I always learn something. I love what you did with the smoothing out....sepia is hard to do because sometimes it ends up being too pink/reddish.

Lightroom is great for split tones too. I like how I can play with those settings as well.

The vintage filter I used was a layer not a filter....ugh...I need to change that now. I got my words mixed up. So there was a texture on the layer as well.

Thanks!!!

PS - Abbey loves the camera. When she sees me with it she poses.

Those are pretty effects! I like all of them!

Funky Edits Deb! Abbey is a perfect candidate. With her textured hair it looks cool.

She is an ideal model because she likes the attention. My camera makes her all happy and she acts up and poses. What a maroon. :)

Lol! You got to Love our pets. It is neat to discover their different personalities. :)

Nicely done! A beautiful portrait of Abbey!

I like this one too ... isn't she the cutest?

Nice work, and beautiful dog

Posted using Partiko Android

Damn those are nice photos! I wish I could take nice photos like this tears Abbey's too adorable another tears

Some can write, others can take photos??? At least that's what I tell myself because I can't write worth beans.

haha, so true.

Bagus sekali bulu bulunya thanks postingnya

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-26T22:58:09
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 452.44/800.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 165
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You got a 1.85% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @countrygirl!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48