Fungi Friday - Bleeding MycenasteemCreated with Sketch.

I found quite a few mushrooms this week and got a decent meal out of one of the finds.

Here's some bleeding mycena, they look like they are bleeding as little red dots of liquid forms on the caps.

I also found these tiny mushrooms on a dead stump. I have no idea what they are but the gills kind of reminded me of oyster mushrooms.

I found a massive batch of crown tipped coral.

These are one of my favorite mushrooms. If you take a nibble of it raw it has a sharp stinging peppery taste.

Once these are cooked then the pepper taste goes away and they have a deep mushroom flavor and a pasta-like texture.

I ended up cooking them with pasta, olives, articoke hearts and some spicy shrimp. It turned out really good. Happy #fungifriday @ewkaw

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That's a trippy looking one, reminds me of a more interesting shaped corticiod crust type of fungi. Almost lichen-like.

Posted using Partiko Android

I forgot to apply my thanks last Friday, doing it now: solid fungi post! tnks a lot. looking forward.

Great and varied fungi post. Excellent pictures.

I am still obsessing on trying to id the second one.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good work and good luck with that :)

Yeah its a bit impossible without some kind of lab equipment and paul stamets as the guide.

Posted using Partiko Android

True :) often is some spore looking and various chemical reactions involved, we have here on this peninsula a local equivalent of Paul Stamets, he wrote big illustrated fungi guide for this area, and I would like to have his phone number and a privilege to call him a few times a day during the autumn at least :) or even better the possibility to teleport him when is really needed.

...to have his phone number and a privilege to call him a few times a day during the autumn at least ...

lol

On my experience, the bigger ones have bitter test even after cooking. So I gather only young corals.

Posted using Partiko Android

I had to pick through the pile i harvested for about half an hour sorting out the old ones. Once they get past a certain softness they turn bitter. If they kind of bend like rubber and are darker brown then they are bitter but if they are still soft enough to snap and are white then they taste fine. This batch had a mixing of dried out, old and new ones. It was a pain sorting but worth it. I wish there was a way to farm these, definitely one of my favs.

Posted using Partiko Android

Did not know you can eat those coral fungi. We have that everywhere around here. I might have to try it I take it that it is definitely safe to eat as you are eating it?

Posted using Partiko Android

Be sure its crown tipped coral and not a different ramaria. Also cook a little test batch before eating a bunch just in case you might be allergic to it. Then be sure to harvest it while its still starting out otherwise it gets tough and bitter.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheers thanks for the extra information 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

looking great, as usual

Thank you! Happy Fungi Friday to you too.
They all look amazing :)

Hello...
@sketch.and.jam
Fantastic.....!!!!!!!!!!
Awesome on the crown tipped coral.
:D

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 100.00% upvote from us for your 24222 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56