#FungiFriday: Bird's nest fungus

in #fungifriday6 years ago

These tiny little bird's nests popped up in one of my succulent pots. Bird's nest fungi are found all over the world and get their name because of their resemblance to a little nest with eggs in. The "eggs" - called periodoles that we can see are in fact fungi spores, and they are dispersed by rain. If a raindrop hits the cup at the right angle, it dislodges the disc-shaped periodole out of the fruiting body.

birds nest fungus.jpg

These little cuties have always been favourites of mine and they often pop up in pot plants because they grow in composting vegetable matter. They don't like extremely humid conditions so it's not a sign of overwatering so I am not concerned about the succulent's health. They also don't attack living plants.

My contribution to @ewkaw 's #FungiFriday. It's not a competition, just a day to post fungi

Sort:  

Never have seen these before. Most likely due to our humid climate. 🐓🐓

Take a good look at dried cowpats some time. I've seen them grow on those

Never seen this before. They are cute though, just like their name.

You'd like this for the microscope. They are very small, that's most people haven't seen them

I will be sure to grab a sample if i ever come across one. I keep empty jars and ziplock bags in my handbag in case I ever come across anything cool.

dislodges the disc-shaped periodole out of the fruiting body.

Interesting. I've had some encounters with fungi and lesions in the past but not these. I think you might find my latest post entertaining. Just posted it this morning. "Yuccas gone wild"

They should occur in your part of the world

I see this for the first time!

Steemit is full of interesting things ;)

It's true!

So cute! I wasn't lucky to find those yet.
Happy Fungi Friday :))

Thank you! They are very small and you usually find them on or close to the soil

Must look better next time..

Amazing settlements of fungi. I've never seen such a form. Very interesting.

Thank you

Very interesting fungi. The colours and design are very strange for my country!
The name is really good! So many bird nests in one basket!!

I can't recall ever seeing these before, they are quite cute.

Are there cattle where you live? You might find them on dried cow dung

Out near my parents property, there are dairy farms. Will keep an eye out when I go out there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47