You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fungi Friday! Mushrooms to the Rescue!!!

in #fungifriday6 years ago

Fungi are so underestimated! I don't have such huge knowledge of them, but I do enjoy them and I always look for new ones :)

Thank you for participating! Love all the types you found. Especially those yellow sticks. Haven't see anything like that around.

Happy Fungi Friday! :))

Sort:  

I really wish I knew the names of all these mushrooms, too. Those yellow sticks were really fascinating and so beautiful next to the red mushrooms. I have no idea if they are mushrooms are not.

Every hike I've been on with other people, everyone stops in fascination when they see a mushroom. They can sometimes seem to be such an anomaly like they belong on another planet ;)

Thank you! Have a great day.

I had to google those yellow ones. Could it be Calocera viscosa, yellow stagshorn?
So awesome!

I am just so tickled and impressed that you took the time to look into this mystery further! You got my sleuthing going - my browser is surely going to crash from all the windows I have open.

At first glance, it did look exactly the same as the photo but I kept running into 'forked' or 'horned' top which doesn't appear to be a characteristic of those in the photo (thus the 20 new windows opened). Then I found Clavulinopsis fusiformis which looks exactly the same but without the forked/horned top. Can you say that 3 x in a row? Easy name is 'yellow coral mushroom' and they appear to be 'edible': http://wiseacre-gardens.com/wordpress/spindle-shaped-yellow-coral-mushroom/

What do you think?

Here is the calocera viscosa for comparison: http://www.newforestexplorersguide.co.uk/wildlife/fungi/yellow-stags-horn-fungus.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 59515.78
ETH 2505.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47