Ants Are WILDLY Underappreciated, Contributed by @sharingeverybite

in #funfacts6 years ago

ant-macro-insect-red-40825.jpeg

Um, ants? Why on Earth would I care about ants? If that’s what you’re thinking, I would have been inclined to agree with you before learning the things I’ll be sharing today. Once I realized what ants are actually capable of, it became clear that they are entirely underappreciated.

Still not convinced? I’ll give you four reasons ants are pretty badass.

Reason #1: They have HIGH-DEF smell.

It was this morning that I really started to get curious about ants. I noticed that after dropping a small piece of fruit on the counter of our Puerto Vallarta Airbnb, ants appeared out of nowhere within about five minutes. They’re not the fastest creature out there, so how could they possibly find a piece of food so quickly? Keep in mind, I’m on the third floor of this house.

After some Googling, I found that ants have four or five more smelling receptors than other insects. Until recently, even scientists were underestimating their abilities to differentiate between the slightest molecular changes. It comes down to them having more smell-sensing nerve cells than people do.

Reason #2: They are MEGA-strong.

Ants can withstand up to 5,000 times their body weight. I hope that number already seems impressive, but I’ll give you some perspective. That’s the same as a 200-pound human lifting the world’s largest passenger jet, an Airbus A380. Or, perhaps, a 105-pound woman (like myself) lifting twenty school buses. Twenty!

Can I get a “dayyyyyum!”

pT5rbBBec.png

IMG_1181.JPG

Reason #3: They don’t have lungs or ears.

You might be thinking, “Well they already have a crazy sense of smell and outrageous lifting abilities, what more can they ask for?” Except, while they don’t have the typical breathing and hearing setup, that doesn’t mean they can’t do these things. On the contrary, ants achieve respiration through holes on their sides called spiracles. Connected by tubes, these special holes distribute oxygen all throughout their bodies.

pexels-photo-842401.jpeg

As for hearing, ants have special receptors to detect vibrations in the ground and adjust their behavior accordingly.

BONUS FACT: When ants bite you, it hurts like a beeyotch because of a neurotoxin they release. Fire ant bites are worse because they first bite to grip you and quickly sting from their abdomen.

So ants, amiright?

Pretty neat little buggers. Less neat when they bite, but still mighty impressive.

Alrightey folks, ant geek-out over!
All the best,
@sharingeverybite (just not ant kind)

Sort:  

You will not believe this - I leave small pieces of food for ants outside - I just cannot get it over my heart to kill them - they work so hard. They really intrigue me. I can sit and watch them for hours

Lol, I feel related. Ants are digging a hole under my house, but I would feel bad killing them, I'm trying to drive them away from under my house to the backyard. If they don't leave, I will get another person kill them, I won't, I can't.

I can relate - my husband bought some ant traps thingies and I told him that is on him - I want nothing to do with it

haha, we wash our hands off, not our fault xD.

Most of the above listed are difficult to comprehend.

Pardon my curiosity but I'll have to read more on the ants.

Thanks for sharing

Some species also have another "super power"... They farm! yes, they are farmers haha, species like the Atta Colombica, cut plants leaves and "cultivate" them, later those leaves get fermented so that they can eat them (the leaves in their natural state are poisonous for them). Also, and as if it wasn't enough, they herd aphids and take care of them, because aphids produce honeydew which is very nutritious for baby ants. Ants bite the wings off the aphids to avoid them from escaping. This is also a symbiosis, because some type of aphids get to enter to the ant's colony and eat the baby ants. Nature is amazing

PD:I can't imagine humans having the strength of ants, lifting buses instead of dumbbells in the gym xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57