My girlfriend doesn't know I'm posting this... (rewards will support her charitable bike ride for cancer research )

in #fundraising7 years ago

My girlfriend, Shereen, inspires me every day.

shaz.png

She's smart. She's funny. She's gorgeous. She's confident.

But, perhaps best of all, she cares about others.

Recently, she made the decision to begin training for The Ride to Conquer Cancer. The 200-km ride takes place over two days. It is a cycling journey and a fundraising crusade that aims to create hope for those who have been impacted by cancer.

shaz 1.png

2016 was a tough year for Shereen's family. She lost an aunt to breast cancer while also finding out another aunt's breast cancer had returned. She has lost other family members to cancer in previous years as well.

Rather than sit and complain, Shereen decided she would take action. She has been training hard to participate in the 200-km journey, while also organizing several fundraising events.

In Shereen's words, "If my loved ones challenged cancer, my zero-experience self has no excuse and I aim to use this journey to spread love, awareness and ride in solidarity with those who have been affected by the disease."

You can learn more about the Ride to Conquer Cancer, or visit Shereen's fundraising page.

Rewards from this post will be delivered to Shereen's fundraising page, with the donation coming from "The Steemit Community." She doesn't know I've posted this... I'm hoping to pleasantly surprise her with your amazing support :)

Sort:  

Best upvote I have given today. We just lost my great uncle recently. He is the 10th person in my extended family to pass due to cancer, survival is so much greater than it was just 10 years ago, but we still have a long way to go. Resteeming and hoping you get as many upvotes as possible!

Max,

Thanks so much for your comment. Thank you for your upvote and re-steem as well.

I'm so sorry for your loss. Cancer is one of those things that seemingly affects everyone in one way or another. You're right, we've come a long way, but there is a long way to go. I'm excited to show my girlfriend this post in a few days, especially because of comments like yours.

Following you.

Thanks to Steemit I can finally give more than just words over the internet! She's doing an amazing thing trying to help others!

It is the strong family members like your girlfriend that help those affected through the scariest time of their life. We should all be proud of people like Shereen, as I can tell you are!

Same here. Deserve my up vote.

Please follow me @yehey
Thank you.

Thanks so much for your upvote!

I love Shereen! All the best to her while she trains for this big challenge. You're right, having a positive attitude and sacrificing to help those she loves are some of Shereen's best qualities. I hope you raise a ton, and she is super surprised by it!

Thanks, sis :)

I love upvoting for a great cause, and I love that Steemit makes doing so easy. I wish you both the best.

Me too :)

Thank you!

Very nice post! My God mother passed away from Breast Cancer and it is a serious matter.....Please ladies get checked.

This picture is from my god mother and I doing a Turkey walk for breast cancer on thanksgiving. This was about 2 weeks before she passed away. Thank god she was able to attend our last family keys trip.

UPVOTED

Thank you @wadepaterson.....Tell the ladies in your life to get tested.

yer i'll up vote this, lets help everyone out

Thank you for the support!

don't worry about it. lets see if we can at least get you to $1000. would love to see this blog get to that sort of money

Gosh how many talents do you have lol.Deserve my up vote

Haha, she's the talented one! I'm just writing about it :)

Keeping you both in my prayers and wishing you all the best. Hope this gains a lot of attention.

I appreciate that! Thanks :)

I've Upvoted for sure.
looking forward to your next post.
You can follow my food blog to know more about me @fatkid

I wish you and your girlfriend the best of luck with your charitable work!

Thanks Jake :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99