Why I Started The Stateless Project & Our Recent “Advertising Campaign”steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fundraiser6 years ago

I’ve heard that when you’re passionate about something, it’ll take you out of your comfort zone. Thinking about it, I suppose that has happened to me before ... but usually because someone tells me it has to!

The Stateless Project is taking me out of my comfort zone ... and it’s no one’s fault but my own! 😅

The WHY behind the project

I started the project because I realized there are virtually no resources for stateless orphans. I’ll share more in a future post what I mean by that, but every time a stateless child needs to go to the hospital or has some sort of legal expense, an asking chain goes around the different social media groups.

One time, the funds arrived too late. The baby was taken from his mother before she could pay the hospital bill. An agent came and took the baby by force presumably to sell ... and we thought it likely we’d never hear about the child again. Thankfully the child was found and they were reunited.

That’s when @ironmanmatt and I decided we needed to do something. We started putting aside money for emergencies ... but it wasn’t enough.

Motivated to do what we can

I’ve designed cards in the past. Recently I ran across some new channels to do it at no production cost to me. I thought, “Why not? If no one likes them, it’s only my time that’s been wasted.”

I designed a few cards, put up a website to share our story and the need, and started to post about it.

Forward progress

Three orders later and the fire’s been lit. The fact that we have about $50 to give to two other families who are caring for stateless children and the same amount to add to our emergency fund is HUGE! That’s money no one was expecting to have. And let me say from experience, just knowing someone cares makes a world of difference.

A friend of ours gives about $20 to our adoption fund every month. While it may not seem like much, his consistent thoughtfulness cheers us up every time it comes through.

Out of my zone

@chrisrice encouraged me to start a @fundition account, so I’ve been reading their advice blogs and working on a proposal. I’ve also watched a couple videos on marketing handmade goods.

I am NOT good at marketing. In fact, I’m terrible at it ... my attempts would dissuade people from buying something (they probably have already).

Anyway, I know something has to be done for the stateless orphans. Selling cards may not be the best solution, but it’s something I can do. So I’m going to campaign for it as much as I can.

My attempts

I’m working on using “call to action” terminology and engaging interested parties. I’ve also dreamed up a partnership with businesses who want to sponsor the project and/or benefit from some brand exposure.

For mainstream social media, I also created a series of cute ads to remind people about the cards. This is the first one in the series. I’m not sure the ads have convinced anyone to buy yet, but I’m certain they’ve brought a smile to someone’s day!

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/helenoftroy-why-i-started-the-stateless-project--our-recent-advertising-campaign-b9dwq6lx-1544099470318.png

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

"Selling cards may not be the best solution, but it’s something I can do."

Don't feel bad. You ARE DOing something. That is all anyone can be asked to do. Sometimes a little isn't enough....true. But almost always "every little bit helps." so, let's start there and be thankful for that that we CAN do. And maybe later, if we can do more, wonderful!

Happy Holidays Helen, and a Merry Christmas to you and your family! (a little early, but I'm not on that much... soo......)

Thx

Thank you for the good reminders! So true! 😃

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is a great post and we support your work!

We have upvoted your post!

If you get the chance, please had over to our page to check out our work!

Best,

@charitycurator

Thank you! I am following you and look forward to seeing what you’ll be doing for others on this platform!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Fantastic! Thank you for the support, we are more than happy to welcome your support!

Best,

@charitycurator

Hello @helenoftroy, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Wow! Thank you very much! I’m excited to see who else you’ve curated - what a great idea!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm glad that you're going to crowdfund on @fundition and I think you might be able to run a successful campaign @helenoftroy.

I am not 100% sure but I saw that @daddywilliam was able to raise funds. Some of it was just through the Steem blockchain by posting updates if I am not mistaken but I also read that he was creating a campaign on @fundition.

Good luck @helenoftroy I will be here to support you with upvotes and I am adding Steem Power every month.

Thank you! I will let you know when I get it set up! And I hope you are able to meet your goals on here too! 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @helenoftroy 👍

By the looks of the recent sell-off in Bitcoin and Steem - it looks like I will be able to meet and maybe even surpass my Steem goals in 2019.

Congratulations @helenoftroy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.
You made more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @helenoftroy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44