Puppets in the community PROJECT

in #fundition5 years ago (edited)

Today I want to share with you what I have been preparing for some time, I had even commented on some of my aspirations both in whaleshares and steemit, to be able to generate projects based on theater, now it is a reality, my first project of puppet making oriented to communities of scarce resources and high rates of violence in Venezuela, I want to make a criticism, since I have had some friction with some people for promoting news about Venezuela and its current political and economic crisis, sincerely do nothing or change anything by publishing their feelings of hatred towards the government, the changes are generated with collective help and with riots or social demonstrations, I ask, what are they really doing to change the situation? That is why my response to the crisis is to encourage through art the change in the mentality of children, various studies show that there is a decrease in violence in those vulnerable sectors where projects have been made not only related to art but also sport, for example, have brought a positive atmosphere for the good living of its inhabitants.

Here I leave you the link of the project in @fundition Puppets in the community PROJECT

Second proposal will be directed to the sowing or cultivation of vegetables linked to the art of puppets, each project that generates in this way this a little distant from art will link it in the best way.

About me

My name is Iván Andrés Montti Larrea. I was born in Caracas, Venezuela in 1984. At the age of 7 I moved to the south of Venezuela specifically to a small and picturesque city called Upata, which in aboriginal language means "my land" or "my place", this move took an unexpected turn in my life making me change from a metropolis-type environment to a small city with only 100,000 inhabitants. I hope to have your support as I launch the campaign for @fundition <3 <3 <3.

In the city of Upata I studied at school until I finished my secondary studies, at that time I was linked to art, I had an alternative rock musical group which was called sheissen, my parents always exalted the arts in their different manifestations which made me grow in constant contact with paintings, music, theater.

In the year 2000 I began to make handicrafts based on seeds of different trees and hemps that offers a type of palm called moriche, selling my bracelets and necklaces I met one of my tutors and artistic parents, Ernesto Urbina muralist of the city that has more than 30 years of trajectory, I spent some time painting murals with Urbina, and one day took me to meet a great friend, we went to a theater called Jau jau is one of the oldest puppet groups in Venezuela with 45 years of cultural work, Luis Reyes his artistic director hired me to make a series of puppets of mechanized threads the project was called Retablo maravilla in honor of a play by Cervantes.

Already in 2005 I belonged to the group of puppets where I worked as a puppet builder and manipulator, the work of the group of puppets is done in rural areas of the state of Bolivar and in poor neighborhoods in the state. In which they have presented both theatrical works of the group and the accomplishment of workshop of manufacture of puppets.

As theatre is a synthesis of all arts and techniques, I felt seduced by other artistic disciplines, in this way I came into contact with photography and audiovisuals, at the same time I matured the musical concept creating another band which is called Babandí and the genre is Reggae fused with Caribbean rhythms.

From this point of view I have the knowledge of 15 years of work with children, teenagers and adults, giving theater classes, organizing puppet theater festivals for children, student theater sample, as well as giving workshops for the development of different classes of puppets as thread, rod, guiñol, muppet, chronopios. Under the theme of conservation of the environment the theater group collects waste or garbage for the manufacture of puppets.

My plan is...

My plan is to carry out once a week a series of free workshops where I will teach the art of making puppets with the use of waste, aimed at children who live in communities of limited resources and high rates of violence, currently I live in Ciudad Guayana this city located 50 km away from Upata my city of upbringing, the city has a population of 1,000,000 inhabitants living in critical situation or extreme poverty.

Generating a project of this magnitude I intend to reach the most vulnerable sites to sensitize children through the manufacture of puppets, as well as raise awareness regarding environmental conservation due to an increase in solid waste in different neighborhoods because there are no garbage collection services.

It is no secret that countless socio-cultural studies have shown the effectiveness in reducing crime rates as a result of the implementation of cultural projects in the communities, thus directing the desires and impulses of children to be creative, taking into account that these children have little contact with art in general.

In order to achieve the objective of developing a weekly workshop in a different community, I have communicated with leaders from at least 5 neighborhoods to begin with, which have made it easier for me to visit house by house to register free of charge children between the ages of 6 and 15. The goal is to work in each workshop with at least 20 to 30 children.

Among the recycled materials are plastic containers of mineral water and soft drinks and juices, newsprint that represent a series of threats to the health of the neighborhoods, thus hoping to generate a positive impact generating creativity in children to see the garbage as objects that can be reused and transformed into art, in this case in puppets.

The theme that I intend to use for the characters will be in part the promotion of popular culture identifying characters from local culture, as well as national and another part dedicated to the generation of puppet plays based on the blockchain, highlighting the use of digital currencies as a sustainable alternative to generate income, this would be of greater help if people in communities learn to use the technology blockchain for their financial freedom, this fits perfectly in a country like Venezuela where the minimum wage is only $5 U.S. dollars and with an inflation of more than 10.000.000 % per year

As I will..

In order to develop 01 weekly workshop of puppets, I will approach different neighborhoods contacting with the leaders to initiate a census of children and to register them in the workshop, in each sector there exists a communitarian organization called communal council in which the spokesperson or person in charge of culture which are ready to link to the community in any socio cultural project. This will make it easier to approach each sector.

In this first workshop I chose the sector in which I live called the chick, which meets the requirements for the workshop, there are a large number of children living in precarious conditions and daily there are events products of delinquency, I have already registered for this first workshop the number of 20 children aged 8 to 15 years old.

I have already contacted at least 5 communities where they are eager to start this educational theatrical workshop.

The first two days will be an introduction to the theater followed by the collection of garbage for cleaning and subsequent manufacture of puppets. The children will learn to design, make and paint their own doll, among the techniques used are a wide range of psychopedagogical tools to stimulate children's creativity.

I plan to start on April 11, 2019 in progress and end on May 25 with a small sample of the work done ending with a sharing between parents and children. In the workshop I will work personally without helpers because I can dominate that number of children without any problem. The classes will be every day with a duration of 3 hours daily which would add up to a total of 42 hours of workshop.

Calendar of activities

Day 1 Introductory talk to the world of puppets with the children participating in the project.
Day 2 Waste collection and sorting (discussion on what kind of puppets to make).
Day 3 Dramatization and its resources: linguistic expression, corporal, plastic and rhythmic-musical.
Day 4 Different situations and contact through body expression.
Day 5 Games and dramatic activities (putting oneself in different situations and improvising).
Day 6 Puppet theatre, types of puppets, puppets, sticks, threads.
Day 7 Learn theatrical concepts.
Day 8 Create puppets, puppets, make the stage box or theatre.
Day 9 Theatrical editing and creation of sets.
Day 10 Breathing, phonology, relaxation, concentration, improvisation activities.
Day 11 Activities that encourage oral expression, communication.
Day 12 Discussion on the format and content of the play.
Day 13 dress rehearsal
Day 14 General rehearsal
Day 15 presentation of the work in the community.

Budget and technical requirements

Although the manufacture of the puppets is made with garbage or waste there are some requirements to concretize the manufacture and implementation of this project.

For the manufacture of puppets is needed:

10 scissors - $ 20
04 black paint - $ 8
04 white paint - $ 8
04 yellow paint - $ 8
04 blue paint -$ 8
04 red paint - $ 8
20 brushes - $ 40
01 gallon white glue - $ 50
01 ¼ contact cement - $ 50
02 exact or blades - $ 8
05 rules to measure in centimeters - $ 15
01 roll of wire - $ 30
01 roll of black stamen- $ 2
01 roll of yellow stamen- $ 2
01 roll of brown stamen - $ 2
01 roll of white stamen - $ 2
01 Foam Sheet - $40
05 thick tip markers - $8
05 fine point markers - $ 8

For the manufacture of the theatre or stage box

03 1" pvc plastic tubes - $60
12 pvc plastic pipe joints - $ 12
01 pvc glue kit - $25
05 meters of fabric - $ 35

Total - $449

Professional fees

One-time payment for: workshop teacher, manufacturer, puppet handler, based on $4.5 multiplied by the total of 42 workshop hours. 180 $

Total - $638


You can donate or collaborate in BTS, Bitcoin, Litecoin, Dash, Tron, Steem/SBD and if you are not registered in the fundition.io page you can collaborate via Paypal.

If you are interested here I will leave you the link of the project, it would be very valuable your collaboration if you spread this message.

My user in Discord @arrozymangophoto#8542


Sort:  

very cute friend so lovely

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 167 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68123.51
ETH 3488.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72