Ithaqa Fundition Update 31

Ithaqa_Page_16.jpg

No tagline for tonight's update, hope you can forgive me! I met with my editor, and we both agree that Issue 4 is creeping towards completion. We're on version 4 now, (counting the version I wrote almost a year ago), and it seems like this will be the first round of edits for issue 4, that don't involve scrapping most of what existed prior.

I keep all the scenes that I cut in a separate folder, cause sometimes I find a use for them, and also because I'm paranoid... but anyway, counting up all the pages that I've scrapped/shelved from issue 4, we're looking at basically 100+ pages of written but unused work.

God damn, but I suppose that helps put into perspective all the trouble this issue has been giving me. We're close though, and via this latest iteration, I've managed to lay out the story's stakes a lot better. I've fleshed out our villains, and I've managed to cut out huge portions of text that used to be our main characters dicking around, waiting for something to happen.

Harvey Bolton (pictured in the panels above), is no longer some deus ex machina vigilante, who shows up and knows things. I'm working on giving him choices to make, and I'm attempting to give him an arc a little more nuanced than just revenge. He's also going to meet up with the other investigators a lot sooner than he did in the rough draft for the whole story. Which is great, because one of the biggest flaws in the story used to be that he didn't get a chance to bond with the team in time for the final confrontation.

Anyway, so help me god I am going to finish this issue THIS MONTH, and if I do, it will be one of my greatest literary achievements to date, sheerly by virtue of slogging through the most difficult writing I've ever had to do.

Hey! Here's another page from issue 1!

Screen Shot 2018-08-15 at 8.47.02 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-08-15 at 8.47.08 PM.png

Here is my daily reminder that you ran receive special rewards by backing different reward tiers (just like with Kickstarter) on our official fundition page: https://fundition.io/#!/@drwatson/t2b3d2ijh

And here are our Fundraising Rankings! When we get to $1,000 USD worth of steem, Theresa and I will be able to finish illustrating Issue 1, and release it to all our backers on steem!

Most Votes Leader Board:

  1. @Bryan-imhoff - 33 upvotes
  2. @Katharsisdrill - 32 upvotes
  3. @katamori - 32 upvotes
  4. @steevc - 31 upvotes
  5. @enternamehere - 27 upvotes

Most SBD Value Contributed - The Council Of Five:

  1. @fundition - $992.02
  2. @kommienezuspadt - $65.66
  3. @Bryan-imhoff - $14.27 (voting rewards) + $28.03 (Pledge Rewards) = ~ $42.03
  4. @eeks - $39.61
  5. @enternamehere - $3.52 + $5 (backing fundition tier) = $8.52

Steemers who hold a position on the council will get to confer with Theresa and I on what the other bonus gifts to the steem community will be. If we decide to do bonus art, the council of 5 will get to have a say in what is depicted! When you back reward tiers in the campaign, that is added to your SBD ranking, so if you would like to be a part of the council of 5 putting 3-5SBD in would currently guarantee you a spot, while also netting you some exclusive rewards.

https://fundition.io/#!/@drwatson/t2b3d2ijh

In order to more accurately reflect how close we are to funding this issue, I'm going to start listing what the current value of my liquid steem wallet is. The numbers that I have been citing this whole time don't reflect the steem loss that comes from other people receiving curation rewards, or that is lost through SBD conversion. Just putting this here for full transparency.

We have raised 611.14 USD worth of steem, which means we are 61.1 +% of the way to our goal! Once we hit 1000 USD, it will guarantee that we release all of issue 1, for free to steemit! At 1,200 USD, I will be able pay my letterist Lucas as well.

The huge price drop in steemit is a bummer, I guess I should have been selling off my steem to lock in the value. In the meantime, I'm powering down myself, to make up for the lose in value that we have sustained. As long as steem doesn't go below 50 cents, we will fund this comic, even if I have to reduce myself to plankton status.

If you have any friends or family who might be interested in a Lovecraftian horror comic, please send them to our website to sign up for some free pages! https://www.ithaqacomic.com/contact-us/

Additionally, If you're new to this comic I strongly recommend you check out our instagram, as I'm currently uploading pages every day.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ithaqacomic/

Theresa Chiechi's (The Artist @la-fumettista) website is here: http://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sign up to buy the comic on our website: https://www.ithaqacomic.com/

FB: https://www.facebook.com/pg/IthaqaComic/about/?ref=page_internal
Twitter: @IthaqaComic

Sort:  

we're looking at basically 100+ pages of written but unused work.

All worth it :)

I hope so, sometimes I fear Issue 4 is gonna drive me insane.

This project is being supported by @Fundition

Fundition is a next-generation, decentralized, peer-to-peer crowdfunding and collaboration platform, built on the Steem blockchain.

#upfundition and #fundition tags on Steem represent the projects that are started on https://fundition.io.

Are You Prepared to Make the World a Better Place too?

Read the full details of Fundition Fund program

Learn more about Fundition by reading our purplepaper

Join a community with heart based giving at its core
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

Congratulations @drwatson! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88