Surthrival Trailer Mark 1 Update #33 Creating a Hexayurt Aircrete Form

in #fundition-ok49qt5zv6 years ago (edited)

Hello Fellow Steemians!

I have a new update for the trailer project building forms that will be used to create an aircrete hexayurt.

I started by laying out a 2x3" board to use for the outside form of an 11/32" plywood.

20181117_154047.jpg

I cut the length of the 2x3" board to 8'&6".

20181117_154632.jpg

I used 2.5" deck screws to fasten the frame to the plywood.

20181117_160503.jpg

I used a framing square to get my board to an approximate squareness.

20181117_161655.jpg

I fastened the board with one screw initially to ensure my square.

20181117_161714.jpg

I cut this middle board to 3'10".

20181117_161840.jpg

Using a chalk line I drew a diagonal on another 11/32" piece of plywood.

20181117_163948.jpg

Using my jigsaw i cut along the diagonal line.

20181117_164122.jpg

This will create the roof section of the mold.

20181117_164427.jpg

Here is the layout for the roof section of the mold. I attached the 2x3" boards to the plywood about 1/4" inward from the edge of the plywood.

20181117_170410.jpg

I used some 6mil plastic to place over top of the mold which will act as a release for the aircrete after its cured.

20181117_170709.jpg

Here is the layout before the aircrete has been poured.

20181117_171048.jpg

Thank you for your time if you gave this a read!

Yours in liberty toward a brighter future, may the great creator bring peace and joy within your hearts, Greg @makinstuff

cropped-LogoV4.png

Sort:  

So, the aircrete will be thin slabs when it sets up?
I haven't seen this done before, so it should be quite interesting to follow.

I was thinking the same thing.

Likewise! I am looking forward to learning something new here.

Exactly, This is experimental, we'll see how well it works out.

Posted using Partiko Android

It looks like you are going to make two separate panels, one rectangle and one triangle. Do you use the rectangular ones for walls and the triangular ones for the roof? How to you attach them together?

Correct, aircrete can be drilled into. I will create 6 of these sections and assemble them. I will probably use deck screws and duct tape. I believe this is possible and am going to experiment building a yurt shelter this way.

Posted using Partiko Android

What about rebar, remesh, or some other reinforcement? Steel reinforcement is great until it starts to corrode. In a thin section that would probably be right away. I've thought about using something like fiberglass window screen. That stuff is very strong for its weight. If you could get a fiberglass mesh that was coarse like hardware cloth that would be perfect.

howdy sir makinstuff! hey what in the world is aircrete? lol.

It's a lightweight concrete made using a stable soapy foam to produce a lightweight, fireproof, insulating, rot proof material.

Posted using Partiko Android

howdy today sir makinstuff! wow that sounds like a wonder material, is that a new invention?

Hey @janton good sir, there have been several people using the material to create some dome structures. This will be a first if I can successfully cast and build a yurt structure this way.

Posted using Partiko Android

howdy again makinstuff! oh are people making houses out of this? I guess I should google it. If it's light weight and super strong then you'd think they would build houses with it.

Indeed, check out https://www.domegaia.com/ they have pioneered building dome houses with aircrete and created a low cost DIY foam generator kit for people to get started making their own aircrete.

Posted using Partiko Android

oh how cool! thank you sir makinstuff!

You bet fine sir!

Posted using Partiko Android

This project is being supported by @Fundition

Fundition is a next-generation, decentralized, peer-to-peer crowdfunding and collaboration platform, built on the Steem blockchain.

#upfundition and #fundition tags on Steem represent the projects that are started on https://fundition.io.

Are You Prepared to Make the World a Better Place too?

Read the full details of Fundition Fund program

Learn more about Fundition by reading our purplepaper

work_on_progess.gif

steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png
Join a community with heart based giving at its core

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59