Surthrival Trailer Mark 1 Update #17steemCreated with Sketch.

Good Evening Y'all, today I began running the wiring and setting up the battery bank for the trailers solar panels.

I started by cutting the MC4 connections off my wiring that was set up from the Sol-Ark Product. I needed to cut these connections off to feed the wiring through the trailer.

20180919_155727.jpg

I cut the + connector on the other wire since I needed both a positive and negative wire on the outside of the trailer so I can connect the panels in series.

20180919_155835.jpg

Using self driving 1/2" Lath screws I fastened the LB to the trailer to ensure it will be mechanically connected to the trailer.

20180919_160800.jpg

I used 2 screws to really make the LB secure.

20180919_160807.jpg

I fed the wire into the trailer one at a time.

20180919_160938.jpg

I fed the second wire in with no troubles.

20180919_161317.jpg

I connected the positive and negative MC4 connectors of the 2 solar panels.

20180919_160242.jpg

I then connected the + connector from the panel on the right to route inside the trailer.

20180919_161511.jpg

I connected the - connector on the left panel to route inside the trailer.

20180919_161737.jpg

The MC4 connections snap together very easily and hold tight. There is a special tool that makes releasing the connections easier I will show in the next post.

20180919_161808.jpg

Here is the overall view of the wiring on the outside of the trailer. I will need to dress the wiring and secure them to the panels to keep them from shifting around in transport and wearing out.

20180919_161847.jpg

Another view after taking the slack out of the cable. The - connector of the left panel is butting up to the entrance of the LB. I will dress this up better and come up with a good cable management set-up.

20180919_162000.jpg

Here's the view of the cables entering the trailer.

20180919_162057.jpg

As you can see, I have much more cabling than necessary. I got a great comment from @amberyooper to put my wiring in conduit on the inside of the trailer, and I will incorporate that on the inside to keep my cabling from moving around and wearing out. Thank You @amberyooper for your suggestion.

20180919_162103.jpg

Thank you for your time if you checked out my update!

cropped-LogoV4.png

Sort:  

howdy sir makinstuff! this is probably easy stuff for you but for me it looks like quite the project! lol. and it looks like it's coming along very well.

Thank you sir, if you're looking to start a solar project feel free to reach out and ask questions anytime brother.

Posted using Partiko Android

oh great, I will thank you!

This project is being supported by @Fundition

Fundition is a next-generation, decentralized, peer-to-peer crowdfunding and collaboration platform, built on the Steem blockchain.

#upfundition and #fundition tags on Steem represent the projects that are started on https://fundition.io.

Are You Prepared to Make the World a Better Place too?

Read the full details of Fundition Fund program

Learn more about Fundition by reading our purplepaper

Join a community with heart based giving at its core
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

It looks like you have that wiring well in hand.

you're a master brother, nice work!

Thank you bud!

Posted using Partiko Android

for sure, i like your post..i love makinstuff, i will follow and wait till you make something i can make and feel good about it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75