You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ask the Car Guy @socky Jun 9, 2019

in #fun5 years ago (edited)

Spark plug coils are pretty easy to change, but don't just assume that it is causing the issue. There are many things that can cause power loss. Some of those things won't create an engine light. You are in luck that you have an engine light. Your computer records the fault and only displays the engine light.

Here is what you need to do: Find an automotive shop or parts store that will use a scanner to read the fault code. Call around, some will do it for free. It only takes a moment to read the codes with a scanner. The car's computer measures the tolerances of many parts and sensors. Any one of these components or sensors that fall out of the tolerances will store a fault code in the computer. Whoever scans your car can look up the fault code to find the component or sensor that is out of tolerance. From there, you can choose to replace it yourself or get it replaced by a mechanic. Once the part is replaced, follow the procedure in the manual to reset the engine light.

I hope that helped.

Sort:  

Thanks mate, exactly the plan for tomorrow. While my father was a fitter and turner (and reconditioned engines for a living!) I don't have a mechanical bone in my body. Didn't take after him at all, and he took all that knowledge to the grave with him over a decade ago!

I know I'm lucky got the check engine light - without it, troubleshooting would be very, very time consuming.

I'll fill you in on what happens as it happens - I've got a very busy week, but lucky, I work from home, and the bus network near my house is pretty dang good. Its my first ever check engine light!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60906.91
ETH 2920.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69