@polebird: ❤️ Flashback to my first time trying acro yoga with @karensuestudios ❤️

in #fun6 years ago (edited)

Today I'm taking it back to the first time that my sister @karensuestudios introduced me to the world of acro yoga almost two years ago. We have lived in different cities for more quite a while now, so every year Karen and I pick a place or two that we want to travel to together to meet up. San Diego was our spot of choice this particular year. San Diego is a lovely city in Southern California with beautiful beaches and stunning cliffside scenery. I was definitely excited to be going there, but I had no idea that Karen would bring with her a new hobby!

IMG_1491.JPG

She was like, ..”So I do acro yoga now, let’s try!” LOL, at the time I had no idea what she was talking about because I had never even heard of this type of yoga. After she described it to me and explained the terms, I seriously thought there was no way she could base me and no way I would be flying. It did sound like it would be fun though.

We went down to the beach, and she ran through some basic moves with me. I was surprised that I was able to fly some of the shapes, and it was pretty fun.

Here’s some of the moves we attempted that weekend:

Throne

IMG_6234.jpg

Back fly

IMG_2779.JPG

Looking back, I'm really happy that Karen convinced me to try some acro yoga. It opened my eyes to a whole new world of playing with people/friends for exercise and the social aspect is great as well. That same weekend she convinced me to go with her to Costa Rica for an acro yoga retreat that was coming up a few months later. More on that to come though!

IMG_1507 2.JPG

Thanks for reading! Have you guys tried some acro yoga? Happy Friday Steemit!

Love,
Jess

Sort:  

Would love to try acro yoga for sure! But i have to get back in shape after the endless eating holiday season. @n@

aw you can start any time!!! :D would love to see and get your opinion if you do try!

the pictures are crazy :)

I am inspired from today by yoga :D

haha thanks!! :D

The pictures are amazing :):):)

Polebird, I can't believe you actually performed this. Lol

haha thanks! :D I didn't believe it would work either until we did it, not too bad!

Keep it up dear. I hope to see more of it

By the way, you have never for once commented on my post or upvote it

What's wrong dear? winks

Oh! Heyyy sorry I will definitely check it out :)

wow you two really make extraordinary moves!

Thank you stacee! :D

Really nice! Beautiful sisters!

Amazing athletisim

Thank you! :D

keep it up! or should I say keep her up!

HAHAH yeah sis was a decent base actually! The other way around, she kept crashing to the ground :P

same thing happens to me and my gf @rooddzy but truth is im too heavy for her hehe. we do some acroyoga but only try what we see online. There are no courses in malta at the moment so we have to stick to what we can try :)

hey thats an awesome shot!! I feel like it's actually quite a balancing act to do do the bow pose on a partner :) nice job!

Hey there,
Great story :) You know, I have had the same feelings before starting acro yoga... There is just no way somebody can lift me that way and there is just no way I will stay there :D That moment when everything goes well and you are actually flying is pretty cool. :)

HAHA it is so fun to be a flyer- I definitely remember shouting WEEEEE! a couple times haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99