First post and its about Comic books and nerds

in #fun7 years ago

People of steem, hello and I hope this platform finds you all well. This being my first post I hope it entertains some of you.

First of all as I scrolled through the tag lines I quickly noticed there was no comic or comic book tag. Not even a nerd one. Nerds can come in various shapes and sizes. You have your PC gaming nerd, console gaming nerd, TCG(Trading card game) nerd, Pen and paper RPG nerds (Dungeons and dragons...shit even hero's quest!), electronic/tech nerd, movie nerd(I saw the movie tag line), comic book nerd and the list goes on. I am just surprised that both comic or comicbook and nerd or nerdy are not even options.

The comic book community is still here. Its not like it was though. I am not talking about CONS- That is a whole other level of nerd. I say that with the utmost respect to fellow nerds of all kinds. If you have the patients and talent to build some of those elaborate costumes and hours of make up to walk around a convention and be harassed for pics then my hat is off to you. I dressed up to go to star wars the force awakens, i even made a light saber hilt, my poor fiance had to walk with a grown man dressed as a Sith in a bath robe carrying a sweet homemade light saber hilt. she at least did her hair like Leia. Unfortunately or fortunately we went to the very first screening mid afternoon with some friends and i was the only person remotely dressed up. No one wanted a pic with me other than my lady.

Hilt stuff.jpg

Light Saber Hilt.jpg

But enough of that for now. On to the Comic books. I started collecting when i was a kid, then lost all of my issues when my father broke up with his girlfriend she stole my comics. Yep classy lady that one. However after lets say 20 years later i was finally able to put the loss of that collection behind me and start again. My personal collection is around 2,400 issues at the moment. I consider them an investment. Not all of them, but some of them are and will continue to be worth money. My personal favorite issues i hold are 2 issues of Caliber Presents #1. It is the first appearance of the Crow. Its not super valuable, it is still highly collectible. They are not the most valuable issues in my collection but i am still very happy to have them. I also have an issue of what some people argue is the first appearance of Spawn before Spawn issue #1.

With a couple of books.jpg

Now its not like Crypto investing obviously, which has consumed me like collecting comic books did. But before crypto currency kids collected stuff that(nerd stuff)( I say kids because i am seeing teenagers those are kids to me online slinging crypto and advice, thats something). Just like crypto, people said was worthless and was a waste of money. Comic books, magic cards, pokemon cards (original 151....not all that stuff out there today, when i was a kid....) Anyway some of those books and cards were a waste of money as an investment. However it provided entertainment and some of those turned out to be worth many hundreds of thousands of dollars. Now I'm only in my early 30's so I am not going to say millions, Action Comics #1(First appearance of Superman) was well before my time.

Anyway, sorry about the rant. I hope some of you found it some want interesting.

I am Big Mac, take it easy steem people.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mcdonald851, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30