Street Vibes: It Taste Better If It's Raw

in #fun6 years ago (edited)

This was last Sunday. Still at the Steemcamp event in Warri, we decided to take a stroll through Airport Road and not just to stroll but to feel the street in our hearts and bones.

Guess what we found? A smoking delicious palm tree grub. A young lady was hawking it round the street. I immediately fell head over heel in love with the lady. So, we grab a handful of it for ourselves. Now let the images speak.

IMG_20180708_170842_6.jpg
with @yungchief, @uche-nna and milady @prettyjules158

We tasted a couple of things I don't even know how to call them in English. But one is call palm tree grub and the other is a specie of periwinkle. That's me, I love to explore out things when it comes to eating

IMG_20180708_170459_2.jpg

IMG_20180708_170448_1.jpg

I don't seems to have a photo that shows @gloxypearl fully. But she definitely was here with us. You can see her on black. Anyone with a full photo can let us have it in the comments.

IMG_20180708_170442_3.jpg.

If you think we ended with only the roasted stuffs. You miss a lot. Next we stop at a local restaurant to have a meal. I went straight for the vegetable soup but this @yungchief and @prettyjule158 got my throat hooked on a long spike when they order for some kinda Babylonian food that I have never tasted before.

IMG_20180706_203607_8.jpg
eating some starch and one local soup like that that I have forgotten the name.

Above everything, this was super fun. I'm glad I have this set of guys on my side. We met one dude at one of the restaurant who fell in love with Jules because he says Jules is original and not the Aye kinda girl who only eats at Kilimanjaro and Shoprite. Well, I feel so about her and the rest. Some days you just have to do it the street way.

Edits: I asked for our street photo with @gloxypearl and @prettyjules158 provided me with this one IMG-20180710-WA0028.jpg

Sort:  

Mehn, @lordjames and adventure. I still don't think I have the nerve to dare some of the things you have and food inclusive. I think the last picture with @yungchief is starch and banga soup. One of my special soups to the moon. You guys really had fun obviously.

It's Owo and starch. But I ate banga too with Jules.

@lordjames, you really enjoyed yourself. I know the stuff and can prepare it. The grub looks like a larvae and the adult is a beetle.

You can prepare this? Wow I'm loving you already. I just hope you are not married yet. Me I don't want a wife that only knows how to cook noodles.

I learnt from my grandmother. I spent most of my holidays with her during my school days. I appreciate those times now.
@lordjames, I am married but I wish you luck. You will find a wife with excellent culinary skills.

Hian una just dey chop chop anything wey una see. Hahahahah enjoyment galore ooo

Trust me and food. Where we see food, we die there.

I don't know what food is this, because it is not available in here .

You are really enjoying your adventure and having fun in Warri , the last food I saw you eating with that CORPER is called Owo and starch food , it is a traditional food of the urhobos tribe of Delta state @lordjames

Yes, that's the name Owo. Thanks man. Enjoyed it.

I think you have one of your favorite foods on the street. It is k ow. to me but can't remember at this time. Your eating looks so funny. Thanks for sharing.

I wish i could be there with you guys @lordjames

Hope you all are well

Don't eat to much ... Nowadays you live longer if you're not eating too much :-)

Sending positive thoughts to you and your team ... say hi to everyone :-)

Regards @lordjames

Some day. You will join us.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-10T04:28:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 17.00/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

It was really an awesome time in Warri. The city I spent over 18 years of my life. Steemcamp brought back the memory of the delicious food of the old midwest region. Owo and Starch is a goal.

@lordjames, you are a true Nigerian. You are always ready to try new food from different regions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94