My First Bitcoin ATM Spotting!

in #fun7 years ago

Over the weekend I went out to the "campground"(RV park) in Belleville Michigan to celebrate memorial day by roasting some wieners over the fire and drinking some Summer Shandy's like a good American. The RV parks are fun and all, but it's not real camping, so I wasn't overly excited about going out there. On the way in my girlfriend and I stopped at a liquor store to pick up the life of the party and I saw something that made my day!

 photo bitcoin_zpsaftj7x9h.jpg

This is the first time I have ever seen a Bitcoin ATM! I don't go out to Belleville often but I was ecstatic to know there is one near by! I love to see the Bitcoin community growing and having things like this accessible in my area will hopefully bring more attention to it locally. I am also starting to find out many people I know are also interested in crypto and I've been getting some of my other friends into it as well. Myself, I have started trading and am enjoying learning during probably the worst time ever? Or maybe the best..

Anyways, Bitcoin is awesome. Steem is awesome. DGB is killing it. And I'm loving watching the new world being built.

Sort:  

Should have asked the owner when the ATM will start offering Altcoins like Steem.

Adding support for alt-coins requires some extra code per coin on each machine. For example, you need a way to scan addresses, interface with exchange for buy / sell transactions. (if needed) and an interface to (at least one) wallet. If you have the technical knowledge to do this, feel free to add STEEM support to https://github.com/GENERALBYTESCOM/ and we'll be happy to incorporate your changes.

Yeah, nah, I think I'll leave that up to the people who run the ATM's to code their machines that they profit from lol

Just seems odd to make a investment in a machine like that that isn't able to update to connect to different blockchains and make exchanges, but obviously things are just not that simple. I'm sure @Shapeshiftio would love to and could easily handle this issue for anyone who wants to get the alt coin dollar, seeing Coinmarketcap definitely shows that Bitcoin is not only not the only coin in the game, but not the fastest or most used, just the one with the highest price.

We tried integrating shapeshift.io but the price changes rapidly during exchange and although fine for small amounts we found it unusable to add to an ATM (for now) because it would be impossible to guarantee in advance what the rate is, an essential feature for an ATM so instead opted to connect to various exchanges and allow the operator to set their own exchange / wallets and buy & sell %. I totally agree with the 'great idea' BTW, that's why we tried implementing it at the time.

Wow! That's cool! I will have to keep my eyes open for one.

pretty cool. If you like camping check out my nature photos if you'd like. Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59696.83
ETH 2363.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55