KIDS' CHESS TOURNAMENT

in #fun7 years ago

I love when my kids play chess. I like when their little minds work on strategies to weaken the rival and finally get to the opponent's king.

My kids started playing approximately 2 years ago, but played for a year and then quit for a year. They re-started 2 weeks ago and went directly to a tournament.

They'll be playing 5 games between this Sunday and next one. 1st grade to 3rd grade in one category , and 4th to 6th is the next category. My kids are in 2nd and 4th grade.

My youngest kid (in blue) plays quite well, but still gets distracted or anxious at times and makes mistakes that costs him the match.

My oldest kid (in black and gray) plays very good and is usually very focused. He won a couple of 2nd places when he played 2 years ago, loosing only to oldest kids who are among the best in town. So, he normally is very confident he will win regular matches.
20171112_102249.jpg

Won his 1st match with no issues... building up his confidence. (We call it double edge knife, cause it can go both ways)

20171112_102235.jpg

My youngest lost his 1st match. He came out sad and angry for his mistakes... .but he forgot about it in the next 2 minutes. He has the defect or quality, to let go easy, and I like that about him : )

20171112_104014.jpg

20171112_104021.jpg

Today my oldest had a humbling lesson; when he was winning against a kid (blue/white cap). However, the extra confidence played against him and he committed a couple of BIG mistakes that costed him the game. He came out crying due to the frustration he was feeling. But I told him that's part of the game, and that he also needs to learn how to loose and handle those feelings.

20171112_113237.jpg

Yeiiii ! CHECK MATE on just a few moves.
In english it's called Scholar's Mate... in Spanish Mate al Pastor (Shepherd's Mate)
So my youngest won his 2nd and recovered his spirit.

20171112_115830.jpg

Hopefully they do good next Sunday, but most importantly, hopefully they HAVE FUN and ENJOY THIS EXCELLENT LEARNING EXPERIENCE.

I'll keep you posted of next Sunday results...

Your upvotes and follows are appreciated.

Best regards to all..
@jlopezamor

Sort:  

UpVoted @jlopezamor for an interesting post and nice picture of children doing good to uplift and better themSelf. I see that Chess is a game all save the King.

Thanks for your upvpte @zublzainordin ! Hope you have a great day! or night!

Both night and day has been great @jlopezamor ever since I am at Steemit.com #steemit

Oye muchísimas gracias por el regalito que me acabas de enviar! gracias por ayudar. Saludos.

No hay de que... espero que se junte mucho

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60740.76
ETH 3388.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52