Soaked in Calm: Set up Your Aquarium Today!

in #fun7 years ago (edited)

Introduction
After searching online for introductory videos and tips, I finally decided to buy an aquarium for my Birthday. Considering our budget, I had to choose between pigging out on pasta and staring at these magnificent creatures. It was a good choice!

I hope beginners can learn something from my past mistakes enumerated below.

The Right size:
Based on my experience and online tips, it's common to want a bigger one after getting any size. This hobby is so satisfying that I still remember my frustrations with my first 5-gallon tank. I now have a 15-gallon tank which is the largest I can fit on my platform. Well, this one's not a mistake so far. A small one may be easier to clean, but the more water there is, the longer it stays clean!

P_20171017_143807.jpg
[My Latest Setup]

The Right Platform
Having no concrete surface to put it on, I had to drill multiple holes for five wall brackets and support wires. It was pre-planned and the wall shelf had already been installed prior to the 'big day'. It's far from ideal but make yours as stable as you can. You don't want to stress the fish everytime the tank gets bumped or moved.

P_20171017_143742E.jpg
[Original Photo]

Water Treatment
We're all excited, so I decided to use some chlorine neutralizer and wait for 2 hours, instead of having to stagnate tap water overnight. If you don't plan to use water treatment drops, prepare stagnated water every week, since maintaining the water quality by replacing about 20% of the water every week shouldn't be overlooked.

P_20171017_213222_DF.jpg
[Original Photo]

The Right Fish
Goldfish and Koi fish are not expensive and easy to keep. They also thrive together, but they produce a lot of waste, so you need to have the:

The Right Filter (perhaps, the most troublesome part)
I cleaned an old air pump and it worked like a charm, so I bought only a sponge filter to attach to it. The thing is, the foam is not capable of filtering fish poo and larger debris.
Having problems with murky water (inadequate filtration), I decided to replace the air pump with a water pump-powered top filter.

P_20171005_102230.jpg
[Original Photo]

However, with live plants in the tank, I was concerned that dead leaves might get through the pump's screen and clog it (which happened in my Dad's outdoor aquarium before)

The Solution: I contained the sponge in a plastic jar with holes and connected it to the pump. It filters 100% of the water before it gets to the top filter (making the top filter useless). I got crystal clear water but the sponge would also get clogged easily with fine debris, which stops it from aerating within 2-3days of cleaning.

I finally found a compromise by using the fitting that came with the sponge filter to extend the water tubing going into the pump. I fit it loosely onto the top of the foam filter inside the jar, so some unfiltered water leaks into the pump but it doesn't allow large debris to get in and clog it.

P_20171005_114141_1.jpg
[Original Photo]

I also cut extra grooves to increase the foam's surface area and extend the cleaning interval from 2-3 days to 5-7 days. The top filter catches any dirt that makes it through the loose fitting, and most large debris settle in the bottom of the jar. - I could say that it works like an expensive, multi-stage filter now!

P_20171005_102123.jpg
[Original Photo]

I used an under-gravel filter in my first aquarium, but I remember the trouble cleaning dirt settling on the bottom, when using the pebbles themselves as filter, so I didn't go that way now.

Proper Feeding
I tried sinking pellets for the first time, and I was glad since it encourages fish to feed on the bottom. As they agitate debris hidden in the pebbles, The filter has a chance to suck them in.
Feed only twice a day, or follow professional advice. My goldfish and Koi fish associated people with food quickly, so they often look hungry when they see a face through the glass. They bit my daughter's fingers too! - But all these don't mean they get fed more often.

Proper Lighting
The relatively new submersible LED light worked well, but I figured that green algae bloom around it so quickly, so I ended up sticking it with suction cups on the outside. Putting it on a side instead of on top gives it a natural lighting effect which provides contrast and the thoughts of early morning or sunset can further reduce stress. Also, don't forget to use a switch so you can conveniently turn off the light whenever you're away. It not only reduces power consumption but reduces algal blooms as well.

P_20171016_145735.jpg
P_20171017_143651.jpg
[Original Photos]

The Right Gravel
I would go for dark-colored pebbles but they're not available. As I supposed, colorful pebbles and those toy dinosaurs grab attention and the fish just won't pop out. So for beginners, a thin layer of gravel is totally fine. You can add another color on top of it if you can't get the best color from the get-go.

The Right Plants
Some argue that plastic plants get dirty and hard to clean. That's true, but if you can't grow live plants without their leaves eventually withering and clogging the filter, plastic plants is the way to go.

P_20170904_184025_DF.jpg
[Original Photo]

The Right Decoration
Well, it's a work of art, so there's no right or wrong here, but consider the weight of coral/rocks (if you want to put any in) and their color as well. Initially, I tried to hide the bulky filter and surround the whole area to keep fish swimming in the center for viewing. It worked for some time, but for some reason, they started hiding in little spaces in the back of the tank. I ended up putting everything in the center so, fishes can swim freely around them. So far, so good!

I hope you can now imagine how to start this hobby. There might be areas I haven't covered here, but you'll figure out the details once you get started. Enjoy!!!

[Original Video]

P_20170914_075137_1.jpg
[Original Photo]

Sort:  

Woahhhh! Rad!

Nice fishes the have a nice home
Greetings @j-alhomestudio

Ganda ng pag ka set up. :)

good for you man, make sure you take care of them fishes. I wouldnt want to be stuck in a cage all day...wait 90% of the human population is already doing that

Would be thankful if you leave your opinion on my latest post😊

nice setup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26