You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling Blog, Vol. 38 - Exposing the Kult: A Spontaneous Bit of Fun.

in #fun7 years ago (edited)

Yakult is like holy water in Asia. My Thai wife her mum works as a yakult lady. Stuff is being sold like by the tons. Everywhere you go there is a yakult lady selling some. Walking around with iced bags and on the scooter a big trunk with iced twelve packs. They are 7 baht a bottle and yakult lady gets 1 baht comission a bottle. My wife her mum earns about 9,000 baht a month, but in commissions about 20,000 baht a month. I think they drink it, because they hardly drink cow milk or eat yoghurt. In my country everyone eats yoghurt and drinks cow milk, so the stuff is hardly sold here. Don't know many yakult drinkers in my country, but Thailand nearly everyone does.

Sort:  

I was not aware it was a big deal in Thailand, too. Good point about the dairy, though. Dairy here is expensive and not nearly as big of a part of the average diet as it is in other countries.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68492.14
ETH 2699.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72