Belote - one of the greatest card games on Earth.

in #fun7 years ago (edited)

Hi guys and girls! Have you ever played Belote? If you are from Europe, chances are that most likely you have! But I've found that people outside Europe rarely have ever heard of this fascinating card game! But before I jump into explaining the details of the game, let me take you on a journey back to my childhood when I was five years old.

When we were kinds, me and my brother would love to spy on our grandpa while he's playing Belote!
Me and my brother would secretly look behind my grandpa's shoulder to see what cards did he have, what he'd announce, how he'd play the cards he's holding. Then, after each round was the scoring. He was counting the hands he and his partner won, and was writing the result on a piece of gray wrapping paper. While the cards were dealt, he used to take a sip of his mastika (a type of liquor similar to ouzo). While I was watching him, I was picturing myself as an adult, taking my place on this table. The set up looked something close to this:

And to this day I see men, old and young, playing the game as in the good old days. Ladies play too of course, but you wouldn't see a female player as often as you'll see a male. I've got to admit that some of the most skillful players I've seen were women. Usually a woman would be either making a rookie mistake, or pointing your mistakes every now and then, overseeing every detail of the game during it's course - there are really no girls in-the-middle from my experience. They are either relatively week or extremely skillful.

Although Belote is a game of skill, it is really, really fun! Usually people who love Texas Hold'em Poker love to play Belote too! I was wagering on Belote before I got into Poker. Of course, it is ok to play just for fun, with the purpose to outscore your opponents. And the best type of Belote is played by four people divided in two teams. It is the perfect game for two couples, or four friends. Or to break the ice on a second or third double-date. There's a funny saying some people may have herd before:

Belote is like sex - if your partner's not good, you gotta have a good hand.

Of course, there are computer games and apps where you can play and learn the game at it's basics. But you better play against the computer first, instead of real people online - you may get a lot of criticism by your partner if you are a rookie. Make sure you play with your skill level taken into account. I've received a few slaps till I learn, and it's the rite of passage of every self-respecting avid Belote player :)

Which is your favorite card gave of all? Please let me know in the comment section :)

Happy Playing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63622.11
ETH 2505.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67