RC parts arrived! Fix time... 🚗

in #fun6 years ago (edited)

I am back from Singapore and found all the parts I have ordered in my stash...

That means I can fix the rear differential "accident"

I have been playing like crazy and when you make more demands to mechanics (beyond what they were expecting), things break. That happened to the back differential of my buggy. It's also where most of the torque is often applied, therefore the reason.

Here are some clear photos of the "slippered" sprockets:

The damaged locations:

When to spot these problems?

Usually, when you have a problem like this, the car will start making sounds that are not usual. And also in an irregular way. For example, when you push it too hard while not yet moving, it will slip and make a "crrrrrkkkk" sound, until the velocity compensates with the necessary torque reduction.

Further consequences if you keep running...

Then it will do it more often and eventually, either stop, lose most of the traction (while still making lots of noise when you try to accelerate), or eventually break another connected piece.

The beauty of fixing stuff

The main reason I like to do maintenance (instead of just having fun) is that I LEARN new stuff! I mean... If I put together all the time I already spent fixing it, then it would have paid for a second car... but I would never know how to fix one.

Comparison of damadged parts:

Before cleaning:

After:

Before cleaning:

After:

Back assembled:

Then a few more minutes:

Ready for testing!

Guess what... all 100% working! Looks like new.

Parts used:

For this fix you will need only one of the three silicon lubricant. I used the transparent one.

Tomorrow its race time!
Cheers

Update 2018-04-01

And its not a joke... real stuff! The car is moving again. Here's a pic after the two battery depletion.





Produce quality SteemCATAPOOM!
RESTEEM if you wish to show others what you have learned... and,
VOTE for Witnesses

I am one of them, forykw!
Status: (disabled) - 10/03/2018

Sort:  

Updated the post with today's progress. The car is running as new!

Thank you for your sharing, I love it @forykw

I love it too =) it's my car! Flyies like a rocket!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76