Darkest politics | #KarenTalks

in #fun6 years ago (edited)

DH1.png

[original images courtesy of Focus Features]
También puedes leer esta publicación en español.

In this opportunity and while I personally wait excitedly to watch Black Panther as soon as possible tomorrow, I bring another Oscar favorite. I watched it mostly, to see what the fuss about Gary Oldman was about. But the film ended up hitting good spots for me - someone's who is usually disgusted at politics in general.

Darkest Hour (directed by Joe Wright) tells the story of England Prime Minister Winston Churchill (played by Gary Oldman) in his early days as Prime Minister, when Nazi Germany swept across Western Europe, threatening to defeat the United Kingdom during World War II. The film almost entirely focuses on how Churchill deals with this very real threat in the course of only a few days.

The pacing is great as in, it starts really slow but the begins to pick up really nicely and smoothly and you're quite able to pick up. Also, I have to give kudos to wardrobe and scenary, really lovely sides of the story.

The only part it lacked for me was in the make-up of Gary Oldman, which, yes, I know it sounds controversial, because many people praised him for it and I'm just about 60% sure he'll win Best Actor for this performance because that's just how the Academy works, I guess. While I definitely acknowledge that they'd tried their best (and they did a remarkable job anyways) at giving Oldman a look that made him absolutely unrecognizable I still feel like most of the times I saw him as costume-d character. Oldman's face (and body) is way too skinny in comparisson to the actual Churchill. Like just with seeing his arms you could see how much stuff was on him as a costume.

However, the main topic here is politics and it deals with it in an exquisite way, so this film, in my eyes, has:

DH3.png

Feel free to follow me on Twitter and Instagram.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39