A Little Healing Basket

in #fun6 years ago (edited)

In Oregon we have lots of pine trees - and pine needles! Since I was here on vacation I didn't have access to my stash of plain raffia but a search of the thrift stores netted me this bright green kind and I decided it was perfect for the basket I wanted to make.

Pine basket with stones.jpg

Our neighbor had just found out she was going to be losing her job. Downsizing they called it and it hit her pretty hard because she'd given decades to the company and loved working there. Not many jobs around here and she wasn't old enough to retire. She was going through a lot of stress, and who could blame her?

Making a pine needle basket is an exercise in patience. I find it very meditative and with this one I made sure to put as much calming and 'it's going to be fine' energy into it as I could.

Tight coils at the bottom to make a firm base, then gradually bringing up the sides, adding rows and rows of pine needles and connecting them with the raffia.

When I made it the size and shape I wanted I decided to add a lid to keep the energy of the stones contained in that heart space. I found one of my grandmother's beads to use for the top, and it was done!

I chose green aventurine for calmness and new opportunities, and pink rose quartz for her heart chakra to help her keep her heart open and release any anger for her situation. I am telling you this, but I didn't tell her because she already thinks I'm a little weird. :-)

I won't claim this little basket helped her get a new job within a few weeks, but I'd like to think it helped!

Sort:  

Such a beautiful thing you have done :) The mind sometimes dismisses or underestimates such gestures, yet they are powerful in a quiet/humble way. I like to make food for people as a way of sharing that same energy ❤

Thank you. Oh yes, I agree - food is such great energy!

Beautiful basket, I really like your grandmother's bead for the lid. I believe in the power of energy, intention and prayer that you shared with the basket and the stones. Very nice stone choice too. I get the feeling it did help.

Oh, what a beautiful gesture, Donna. I love it, it's adorable - the shape, the size, the colours :)

Congratulations @donna-metcalfe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05