You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Fun - 15 Years

in #fun7 years ago

This reminds me of when I go home but a little bit the opposite I guess. I grew up and went to high school on the east coast. I had a great core of friends who did everything together. We partied regularly and were at the clubs every weekend. We loved the drinks, we loved the noise and every night was an adventure waiting to happen. I moved away in 2000 to live with my now ex wife. I went home as often as I could to visit family and of course hang out with the boys. We would relive the glory days while I was home. Well, actually, the reality is they had never stopped living them. I was just joining back in and I loved it.. At least at first I did. Over the years we all got married, had kids and unfortunately the time between my visits home became longer. It was a few years ago when I went home with my new partner and all of our kids when I realized something. We were at a big BBQ and everyone was there together and the boys were telling stories about their latest escapades. Wild stories that at this point I couldn't imagine being part of. As the night went on and we had some beers and some laughs the conversation turned to where we were going to go tonight. They had totally planned to go out to the club. That's when I realized that my oldest friends had never grown up. At least it felt that way. Yes. They had families and careers but they lived their weekends still like they were young and single. I had no intention of leaving my family to go party at the club and I got razzed about it. Driving back to the cottage we had rented at the end of the night I couldn't stop talking to my partner about how much they haven't changed. These guys are my best friends but somehow I was feeling very disconnected. Sometimes time and distance can do that.

Sort:  

It can give you that disconnected feeling and no mistake. I have had that. Fortunately most of my friends have managed to grow up. Except the one lol

It’s funny because as I got older I never really felt old, or even grown up. Marriage, kids career and at times you still feel like the young guy inside. Then you are put in situations where that feeling is put to the test and you get to learn just how old you are. Haha

HAhaha, yes indeed. Exactly that. I was talking to a girl in my work who for some reason I asssumed was a little younger than me. Then she said she was dreading her 21st birthday next week. Instantly I was crushed because I realised I was not just a little bit older than her and also I was over double her age!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62419.28
ETH 2628.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56