You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Occupation That EMPOWERS Criminals and RUINS Lives!

@wiser Whoa! Where, in the article or video, did I advocate the use of non-self-defense violence against people who want to wear costumes and pretend to be "authorities?" Exactly what "rhetoric" are you siting, that I've articulated, which "feeds the targeted violence against police officers?" Pointing out that all law enforcement agencies are sworn to uphold arbitrary laws which HURT people (financially and sometimes physically) and take away their freedoms is NOT a battle cry for rival thugs to start taking up arms against them.

Please demonstrate how "impugning the entire profession (of law enforcement) is taking it too far." Are they not a uniformed gang whose sole source of monetary enrichment comes from the theft (taxation) of the people they claim to "protect and serve?" If you don't pay these enforced "tax" laws, do they not come to your house in armed fashion and threaten you till you pay? Do they not throw people into cages for possessing things their masters say they shouldn't possess? Please articulate how these "officers" are any different from the thugs of Capone's ilk. Thanks, in advance, for the dialogue.

Sort:  

I know you are not calling for violence against police officers. But it's happening, so calling them evil and blaming them and their profession for ruining lives and feeding crime is at best unfortunate timing. You do have a right to say it, and I have a right to say what I think about it.

Let's talk about tax laws first. I don't like all aspects of the tax code and believe it to be in need of reform, and I don't agree with how all of my tax dollars are being spent. However, I believe it is within a legitimate government's rights to levy and collect taxes. If you have ever driven on a road, visited the Smithsonian Museum or a national park, or had to be quickly transported to a hospital by ambulance or flight for life, then you have been the beneficiary of taxation.

The police force is essentially what happens when the citizenry delegate the task of defense of their person and property to a specialized and trained group of people. I know that I as a citizen have the right to defend myself and my property. But maybe I'd prefer to do something else with my time than take all the training and practice needed to be able to safely carry and use a firearm. So I delegate this to the local police force and I contribute monetarily (taxes) so that these men and women can spend the hours needed to train and also support their families. And If I'm a farmer, then they benefit by getting to eat the food I grow (which they don't have time to grow themselves because they are training and on patrol to defend me and my farm). It's really nothing more than specialization, and that starts happening very early on as civilizations get more and more complex. That's where the legitimacy of a police force comes from and how it's very different from a gang of thugs.

With that said, I recognize that there are issues with how police work happens today. There's corruption and the fact that it's simply easier to sit in speed traps and pull over motorists than it is to actually go out and fight crime and defend people's person and property when it's threatened. Where I live there is an issue which to me seems like a conflict of interest because in order for my town to have a police force, it has to be self supporting. This means its existence depends on traffic fines. Our town is definitely safer with the police presence, but I would prefer it to be funded a different way.

So I have no problem with saying that police work may be in need of serious reform. And I bet a lot of LEOs would agree. The fact that it is getting easier and easier for people to forget where the legitimacy of police forces comes from (We the People) is a good indicator that there needs to be some soul searching and returning to the roots in police departments all over the country. But I'm talking about reforming a legitimate profession, whereas you seem to be saying that the entire profession is illegitimate and rotten (and no different than a gang of street thugs). I doubt you'd get very far convincing your local police department to adopt your reforms if you start off the meeting by saying the stuff you've written in this article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46