Introducing "Full Color Friday" a New Challenge on Steemit

in #fullcolorfriday7 years ago (edited)

Introducing a new Challenge / Posting Prompt called "Full Color Friday" #fullcolorfriday

Have you ever wondered what those wonderful #monochromemonday photos look like in Full Color ?

Well, now if everyone who posts on #monochromemonday ( the Original Challenge by @old-guy-photos ) will post their monochrome photos in full color on #fullcolorfriday we can compare and contrast the same photo and see which version we like best and how they can vary based on editing styles etc. I heard @old-guy-photos really loves when you turn up the Saturation lol !

This is more of a posting prompt to encourage analyzing each others photos, discussing techniques and also another "excuse" to post and or "recycle" a cool photo you posted on Monday.

@old-guy-photos was nice enough to let me piggyback off the #monochromemonday challenge and I hope it helps to get more people involved on Mondays as well. There's currently no payouts or prizes for #fullcolorfriday however some friends and I have already agreed to search for new #fullcolorfriday posts and will upvote the quality posts. I hope this can be a "community challenge" where everyone can get involved and keep the challenge going in a self perpetuating manner. Although I am presenting this challenge to Steemit, it does not need to be "mine". It's everyone's :) , so if you'd like to make a $$$ contest using #fullcolorfriday you are FREE to do so, no permission needed.

Some suggestions when posting would be to post the #monochromemonday photo 1st and then underneath post the #fullcolorfriday photo so everyone can compare and contrast.

Perhaps add some discussion about which version you liked the best, what kind of edits you used on each and perhaps why you decided to use less/more "clarity" on one photo and less/more contrast on the other. What is the backstory of the photo. Feel free to get creative and have fun, because whats the point of being on Steemit if you're not going to have fun?

I hope this inspires others to make an additional post on Mondays and Fridays and often times I wonder what those #monochromemonday post would look like in #fullcolorfriday so I look forward to seeing your creations.

If this catches on perhaps we can discuss some $$$$ contests in the future.

Here is a sample of what I was thinking of:

Here is my #monochromemonday I shot along a water retention area in Chandler Arizona while I was shooting some Listing Photos for a new house going up for sale. I was a little early so I explored the area and found this cool scene:

I currently use Adobe Lightroom for most of my photo edits. I shot this photo with my Cannon 80D Digital Camera (Smartphone Shots are more than welcomed as well).

I used a decent amount of Clarity on this one to keep it crisp and enhance the shadows and highlights on the sign.

final-27.jpg

Although I like the monochrome version, I like the color better and I pumped up the Saturation a bit to keep @old-guy-photos happy :) I turned down the "clarity" a bit as I was getting some blue fringing around the trees. Still have some fringing but I'm not gonna stress too much about it. I turned the luminance down on the blue color to avoid a washed out sky.

final-26.jpg

Feel free to post your #fullcolorfriday a day or 2 early or after. As I mentioned this is for fun and Steemit should not feel like work so it's a casual tag to encourage discussion and community. If more comes of it then so be it !

My friends and I will be searching the tag #fullcolorfriday today and this weekend to see your creations.

Don't forget you can also use your #fullcolorfriday posts for other contests and challenges and multitask as well. Perhaps your photo will also count towards @photocontest contests so you can multiply your efforts. So you'll notice I will use the tag #colorfulphotography for this particular post as well.

Let me know if you have any other ideas or suggestion so we can make this a great challenge together !

Have FUN :)

Sort:  

This is so awesome! PERFECT really...considering I often wonder what the black and white photos from this challenge look like...in full color! Hope it catches on...much love and light! <3

I hope to see you do the challenge too :)

SOON hopefully! <3
I am leaning towards three stages...full color...black and white...and color splash which combines both. :D

Thanks information 😊
Good job

wow incredible^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65834.02
ETH 2696.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87