The CEO Lifestyle and my frustrations

in #frustrations7 years ago

I've seen a couple of videos on YouTube about how adapting a CEO Lifestyle is life-changing. You're generally more productive, happier, and your life is more in control (despite all the things you can't control).

The lifestyle changes include getting up as early as 4:00 or 5:00 AM, getting exercise early morning and in general, getting a whole lot done just before 8:00 AM. It also involves wearing similar clothing (i.e. the Mark Zuckerberg or Steve Jobs-esque) and doing downtime activities at night- like cleaning or doing laundry. And, primarily, getting to bed as early as 9:00 PM.

I have always been a morning person and I do enjoy getting up early so I can get a lot done. However, the CEO Lifestyle just won't match my Law school schedule and it frustrates me. I want to get up early. I want to sleep early. But I can't! You see, my classes for law school are at night, from 6:00 to 10:00 PM the latest, so when I get home, I will still have time for some downtime activities, but I will be incredibly grumpy if I wake up at 4:00 AM. I can't sleep early because my classes end late, and I can't get up early because I can't sleep early!

I would prefer to end my days in relaxation. But I can't, because my day ends when class ends and it usually ends with me feeling like shit after a bad exam, or a bad recitation. So I almost always feel like a failure at the end of the day, and I don't want that. I know that making lifestyle changes is an essential step to changing your mindset- but what am I supposed to do? Not show up to class at night?

It frustrates me because I spend the whole day working and/or preparing for class and I worry about class, and after class, it's like- there's relief that class is over but it's an exhausting kind of relief. My day goes on for 16 hours sometimes, from when I wake up at 6:00 AM and until my class ends at 10:00 PM. So here's me, hopelessly wanting to adapt a CEO Lifestyle but it just won't work with my current lifestyle because the suggested downtime is when I'm supposed to be super active in class.

The only way I see this working is if I adjust the suggested lifestyle changes to match my schedule. But I don't see it making much sense. The point of waking up super early is so that a lot can be done.

I'm lost. Sleep is important.

Sort:  

Congratulations @inapesquira! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @inapesquira! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60997.20
ETH 2384.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56