From Financail Planner to HomesteadersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fruittrees7 years ago (edited)

I went to college for 7 years with a final major in Business Admin and a minor in Finance. I went on to work in the field of Financial Planning for 11 years. What I saw there is what has lead me to where I am now. I was a young Financial Planner when the Dot Com craze hit and only about 3 years in when the Dot Com bubble broke. I was a more seasoned veteran when the "housing" bubble "popped". Here’s a question, how can the housing market crash the stock market? Many would go into a long technical diatribe about how asset groups affect one another. But any honest person would admit that one shouldn’t have had such an impact on the other. I watched the industry go through several changes but the more things changed the more they stayed the same.

When it comes to “market” investing there are 2 main schools of thought concerning "the Market". It's the Bulls vs. the Bears. No this is not an NBA, NFL crossover battle royale.
A Bull perspective is based on historical data, the market will "on average" increase in value over the course of time. If you are diversified properly over multiple asset groups,
you are protected from any one particular asset class collapsing your nest egg. A Bear perspective is that ALL short term markets are driven by fear and greed so by analyzing charts and trends, you can determine when to "sell short" assets groups to make money from a falling market.

One of the first things I was taught in college about investments is that 95% of ALL investments fail. "How can that be?" Inversely, if 95% of all investments fail, how could the market
continue to rise? Historically how could it continue to “progress”. Well the first thing that came to my mind was just be in the top 5% and then you don’t have to worry about it. (Talk about a redistribution of wealth.) If you think about this for a minute your pyradym should start to change. The Market is the biggest con game in the world, using crony capitalism dressed up like free enterprise to rob the 95% of it’s wealth and redistribute it to the top 5%. Just look at all of the world’s politicians that have aggrandized themselves “legally” from insider information and they are just the small fish puppets that get thrown some crumbs.

Advising several hundred clients through 2 bubbles, I quickly learned through observation that 95% of investors don't even have the risk tolerance to be in the market. But due to Federal Reserve and government made hyperinflation no one can "afford" to NOT be invested in the market if they ever hope to "retire".

I could tell you LOTS of stories about HUGE Mutual Fund companies with ponzi portfolios, or pre-market trading. Or how about the Credit Default Swaps which caused the mortgage bubble. All verifiable proofs that the markets are rigged at best. Each “crash” making the rich, richer and the middle class shrink into obscurity.

So if it’s all a shell game then what do we do? This is where homesteading, self-reliance and self-sufficiency enter the picture. If I can’t rely on the market for a return on investment, then where should I invest my assets?

I use the word assets, because your time, blood, sweat and tears are just as much if not more of an asset than any fiat currency.

My recommendation is investing everything you got into your homestead. A Homestead is REAL estate. It’s land, it’s real, tangible. When you make an improvement to that land it is relatively permanent. If you plant a fruit tree that tree if cared for will provide you with expensive, organic nutritional food for MANY years.

Diversify your portfolio. You don’t just plant one fruit tree, plant hundreds of fruit trees, not all at once but over the course of time, you invest your blood, sweat and tears. You dig the holes, you plant, you fertilize, you prune and you propagate your trees.

What if you just planted one tree a week? The average decent fruit tree costs about $15. Over the course of a year you could plant 52 fruit trees for a total cost of $780. How much fruit could those trees start to produce in the next couple of years? Now what if you learned how to propagate your trees through cuttings and grafting? In 10 years how many trees might you have and what would be the total amount of fruit produced from those trees? If you continued this process over the course of 20 years, you could literally turn that weekly investment of $15 into an almost infinite return. I say infinite because it would be impossible to calculate.

This is not even taking into consideration the fulfilment you receive from tending to your trees or to the clean nutrition and health your fruit will provide to your family for generations. Not to mention the effect hyperinflation is having on the costs of fruit annually.

Permaculture is another way to diversify your portfolio by literally diversifying your agriculture. Monocultures have systematically destroyed entire industries. Just look at the citrus industry in Florida.

After leaving the world of finance, I have owned several other businesses in the construction, remodeling, real estate market. This further reinforced my opinion that the best place to invest your assets is into a homestead.

I do hold other assets, such as REAL currency like silver and gold but they fail in comparison to the rate of return my homestead will provide my family and I.

As we witness the collapse of states like California, Illinois and New Jersey the handwriting is on the wall. What are you doing to prepare for what we can clearly see is coming?

Let me know your thoughts, what are you investing in?
If you enjoyed this article, please comment, upvote and RESTEEM.

Texas Dad.

Sort:  

A well laid out topic that shares options from a different perspective than many, resteemit to share!

What is the future of gold compared to crypto?

Well gold has been a store of value for over 6,000 years. It's market value is being manipulated much like all crypto but when the music stops I would want gold over crypto. Not saying it doesn't make sense to hold some crypto just wouldn't want that to be my go to asset. But I wouldn't want it to be gold either hence the topic of the article.

If people can buy gold, then they should. The problem is that most people may not have enough money to buy enough. People can always do more than they think. I agree. Don't put all the eggs in one basket. I would have some gold too. In the future, I may try to buy gold. I have crypto now.

I would treat this as alternate assets. Gold should not be used as a tool for investments and more as a hedge on inflation. I consider gold, commodities, crypto , startups etc. all as alternate assets. I would recommend not allocating more than 10% of your capital on alternate assets.

I know it is always hard to time the market and folks encourage holding crypto forever.

The approach I take is to sell my crypto once I make 20% of return using limit orders. As soon as I sell I create a new limit order to buy at 10% price discount to price I sold my crypto. I repeat this checking my portfolio once a day and on average have found myself making an extra 25% return with this strategy.

The other thing is I rotate into only alt coins that are established like litecoin when they have not appreciated enough relative to bitcoin.

Financially, what does appreciate mean? You talked about Litecoin and about appreciation in relation to Bitcoin. Does appreciate mean to like mature or grow or profit or maybe to become less dependent on other things like Bitcoin?

What I mean is that i see a lot of herd mentality contributing to the rapid increase in some of the crypto coins. ex: ethereum and even bitcoin.
Litecoin price did not appreciate at the same rate and I felt it was undervalued. So I rotated some of my bitcoin and ethereum to litecoin when it was at 28$. I dont speculate on other alt coins and only trade in ZCASH, litecoin, ethereum and bitcoin

Hope y'all enjoy this article, would like to discuss this further in the future.

Great article comparing your homestead to an investment in that way...reflects much of my own thinking. Guess that is why I'm on a journey to do with my family what you are doing. Hopefully within a year I'll be in East Texas.

Well I have nothing but good things to say about East Texas, where are you currently located and what part of East Texas are you looking for property?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54