"Banana & Clementine Cinnamon Sticks" (Original Recipe, Sugar-Free, Vegan) || Fruits & Veggies Monday #47

A weekend experiment that turned out successfully, so I'm delighted to share with you this recipe for cinnamon-and-semolina-coated snack sticks, made mainly from fruits!  




As always, my recipes are sugar-free and natural, and suitable for both children and adults. If our children observe us using fruits rather than sugar or artificial sweeteners in our baking and cooking, they will grow up with it firmly fixed in their heads that fruity sweetness is all that's needed!

  


The textured coating gives them an irresistible bite - I used coarse semolina which, in the mouth, gives a texture similar to brown sugar... so if that's your favourite thing about cinnamon sticks, then you won't miss a thing even with this sugar-free version!  The coconut flour too provides sweetness and 'fluffiness', giving a soft inside and crispy outside. 




Ingredients (organic recommended):


2 large ripe bananas

150g coconut flour

100g wholegrain spelt flour

1 tsp baking soda

4 clementines

coarse semolina

ground cinnamon

sugar-free fruit jam (I used apricot)


Directions:


In a large bowl, puree/mash the bananas.



Add the flour and baking soda to the bowl, and rub the banana into the flour using your fingertips until the mixture resembles fluffy breadcrumbs.




Puree the clementines (to retain the fibers rather than simply extract the juice), and add to the dry mixture.  Squeeze together with your hands to form a firm & sticky dough.




On your kitchen top or table, smear an area of jam, and also an area of (generously sprinkled) semolina & cinnamon (this makes it easy to coat the dough sticks).



Tear off a small piece of dough... roll with your palm to form a stick... roll in the jam to coat it... then roll in the semolina & cinnamon mixture.




Place the sticks onto a baking tray, and bake in a preheated oven at 200 degrees Celsius for 12 minutes.



Enjoy warm or cold!




And once again, here's the little 'un proving children will happily eat sugar-free snacks!



Many thanks to @lenasveganliving for continuing to host this wonderful weekly contest!  For inspiration and details how to join in, please see Lena's competition post here.




If you have any healthy suggestions or recipes that would make great snacks, please tag your post with  #makeithealthy and they will feature in the new curation series "Make It Healthy LUNCHBOX".  Let's get our children eating healthy NOW so they don't have to learn how to heal later on in life!




For all kinds of health information, tips, recipes (vegan), crafts, photography, and more, please follow me!
 

To find out what the "Make It Healthy Project" is all about, and how you can be involved in growing this project, please click here.
 



TAG Your HEALTHY POSTS with #makeithealthy!



Sort:  

Oh mu goodness, where do i start? Admiring your little boy Joanna, or the sicks, lol. Well, clearly he is enjoying them and that what matters the most. I love his blue glasses; he looks so grown up. And these cinnamon sticks look and sound supper yummy and perfectly crunchy. Well done my Dear, you are a fabulous mom and recipe creator 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you so much, it means a lot to hear good things about my boy and my mothering efforts! Yeah, he's really grown into those glasses... he was 2 months premature and as a result is overly-long-sighted (apparently a common thing in prem children)... but I'm told it's better than being short-sighted, and won't get worse as long as he wears the glasses (which he does) and maybe he won't need them all his life. We'll see. But perhaps too all the good wholesome food I give him will be having a positive effect on his eyes!???

Thank you also for complimenting my creations! I get bored baking the same things over and over, and am always inventing things in my imagination... one of my favourite things to do in quiet moments! x

Always a pleasure Joanna and I believe he most likely grows out of them, lol. Especially with the highly nutritious meals he is getting. You probably know that, but carrots are one of the best veggies for vision 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
3.png

Oooh a prize, I'm thrilled! Thanks very much!

Thankfully carrots are one of the cheapest organic veg I can buy here, so we eat them all the time and perhaps we'll turn carrot coloured if we carry on this way :-) But as long as it's helping his eyes then maybe orange skin isn't too much of a price to pay? hehehehe

always a pleasure Dear Joanna and I wouldn't worry about turning orange, lol. They are the cheapest organic veggie here too and we get also the heirloom or rainbow carrots here. I use them a lot in recipes, because they are so pretty, lol.

I have to try your recipe it is unusual🍌🍊

If you do then I hope you enjoy them! Thanks! :-)

howdy there @woman-onthe-wing! this is a great post because I've never seen anything like this, did you invent this snack?
your boy is so cute!
God bless you guys!

Thank you @janton, yes I did invent it... it was one of those I made up as I went along and turned out lovely, thankfully! I agree, my boy is the cutest :-)

and he has a wonderful mother who makes amazing snacks and things! lol. that is so creative woman-onthe-wing, steemit is such a perfect place to share your creations!

Thank you, yes it is!

@woman-onthe-wing
Tempting it is.
Keep steeming

OH MY! That looks so delicious, I am printing this recipe and sharing it too. Wonderful post woman-onthe-wing.

Thanks very much @sunscape, you've just cheered my dismal Monday! :-)

More kitchen magic! These look fantastic! I might have to try some of these for my niece (or really just me, but she's a good excuse to try it out...) ;)

Haha, thanks! My husband scoffed most of them last night... it's hard not to when they're sugar-and-guilt-free!

Really amazing recipe!!! 😍
I love it and have to try it :)

Thanks very much :-) I'm nibbling on one as I type this! Yum!

Those look yummy @woman-onthe-wing. Thanks for sharing the recipe. 😊

Thank you @gillianpearce! I figure what good is a tasty recipe un-shared? :-)

Interesting, and different recipe, I've never seen anything quite like this! I'm really tempted to try these out! Thanks for sharing the recipe, I'll save it for later! 😋

Many thanks @jasmink... If you try them let me know! I'm always curious to get feedback :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29