a warm salad inspired by fruitsandveggiesmonday

We were given a whole bunch of free veggies last week and I needed to use them up before they went bad. So, I was tasked with creating a vegetable based meal which would satisfy our craving for something wintery on this crazy day in Perth- it has rained non-stop since this morning and it is the middle of summer!

Perfect day to put the oven on and roast some veg- especially on @lenasveganliving’s #fruitsandveggiesmonday!

All I did for this was take our potatoes and sweet potato (yam)- donated by my mother-in-law, and zucchini- donated by my friend Bel’s nonna, and combine them with capsicum (red pepper), onion, and garlic cloves, and roasted in a hot oven for about 40 minutes. I cut the veg into small cubes, apart from the zucchini, which I cut into slices, so it didn’t get too mushy.

file1.jpeg

I also stuffed some cup mushrooms with half a garlic clove and some vegan margarine, and wrapped in foil.

file.jpeg

To serve, I made a bed of spinach and quinoa, spooned the veggie mix on top and garnished with diced shallots and toasted pine nuts. I also whipped up an avocado dressing, which is just avocado and a splash of EVOO and water, some salt and pepper and into the mini-food processor to make it smooth.

file2.jpeg

All in all, I think it was a success for using up some of the veg we had left in the fridge.

Waste not, want not x

Sort:  

We never ever throw veg out, If its getting near bad just make a soup and freeze it. Looks like a tasty salad. I wonder if I could cakify it??? Mmmm cake.

you can definitely make cakes and brownies out of sweet potatoes and zucchinis!

Oh Mammybot is a boss at sweet potato brownies. We had to put a rule in place on them, my tummy couldn't take the rapid expansion!!

Congratulations @veganrabbit! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

How original ! =)) Looks appetizing for sure

Thats the beauty of being a vegan you can never waste food because you always come up with creative ways to use up all your ingredients! Looks delicious, I love sweet potatoes its a problem! :)

That's awesome to be gifted such delicious veggies! I love the meals that just come together like that. Sometimes they are even better than the recipes you plan for! Great first entry! :)

That looks delicious :) a great way to use up left ofter veggies :)

Beautiful and yummy! Why is it that donated food is always the best! Great flavors and combinations. Love it.

a very nice medley veganrabbit

With love

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

This is something I could eat three times a week! Lecker! 😋

Definitely mouthwatering meal.............absolutely love all the ingredients and the final result is outstanding. Thank you so much for sharing it with us Dear @veganrabbit 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66