FRUIT AND VEGGIE MONDAY: Baked Apple Chia Chai Oatmeal

I learned about @lenasveganliving weekly FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY last week and loved reading all the posts! I'm so excited to participate this week with one of my fall fruit and veggie favorites, especially since we went apple picking this weekend and I’ve got lots of apples to use up!!

Apples.jpg

Ever since I was a little kid, I’ve loved oatmeal, especially during the colder months. There’s something so comforting about it and fortunately it’s good for you! This oatmeal packs an extra nutrition punch because it’s boosted with apples (antioxidants, flavonoids and fiber) and chia seeds (omega-3 fatty acids, fiber). I added the Chai Protein powder because chai is the bomb and for the protein boost. And, there is NO added sugar in this recipe. This oatmeal is also #kidapproved. My two munchkins both gave it a big thumbs up.

Apple Chia Chai Baked Oatmeal
• 4 cups steel cut oats
• Raisins (about a cup, more if you like them)
• Cinnamon to taste—I use A LOT. At least a tablespoon.
• Pinch of sea salt
• Nutmeg (teaspoon)
• 4 cups of unsweetened almond milk
• 1 scoop of Chai Protein powder
• Chia egg
• ¼ cup of chia seeds
• 1 teaspoon, vanilla extract
• 4 apples, cored and diced (you can peel them if you prefer, but I like to leave the skin on for the extra nutrients)
IMG_0728.jpg
Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Make your chia egg by combining 1 tablespoon chia seeds with 2 tablespoons of water. Let sit while you combine the dry ingredients.
  • Mix all the dry ingredients together (oats, salt, raisins, cinnamon, nutmeg, Chai Protein powder)
  • Mix the chia egg, milk, vanilla together and sprinkle a little extra cinnamon on (great for metabolism!).
  • Mix the wet ingredients with the dry.
  • Layer your apples on the bottom of a greased pan (I spray with coconut oil). Pour the combined oatmeal mix on top.
  • Bake for 40 minutes. Serve warm or save and serve cold the next day. It tastes delicious both ways. You can also make a big batch and freeze it to heat on a cold day.

applechiaoatmeal.jpg

I hope you enjoy! Next week I plan to post a few of my favorite pumpkin recipes.

~Traci

IMG_0433.jpg

Sort:  

That is such a lovely photo of you and your daughter having fun apple picking. And the recipe is yummylicious and I can smell it trough the screen 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you so much! We had a blast. It's an annual tradition for our family and love using up all the apples :)

Oats are such a versatile and relish breakfast! I also use a lot of cinnamon because who doesn’t like that holiday yumminess that it gives. Great recipe for those freshly picked apples @tlk- and great entry :)

Totally on the cinnamon!!! and the chai powder gives me all the holiday feels--it's like christmas in a bowl :)

Yes- I’m all about Christmas in a bowl! Brilliant!!

Yum ...so good. Nothing like fresh apples from the orchard

Posted using Partiko iOS

they really are wonderful!

Hello i love this kind of breakfast it really feels you uo in the morning:)

Nice, did you pick wild apples? I used to do that a lot back in Germany and just loved it!

We went to an orchard (Keller's Farmstand in oswego, IL). it was a blast!

Nice, you can totally see how much fun you had! ✨

Another oatmeal lover here! 🙋‍♀️ Usually my oatmeal isn't as fancy as yours, but it's something I like to have for breakfast every morning, yum! Warm oatmeal is the best during autumn and winter (well, I have it in summer as well), but have you ever tried overnight oats? A while back I tried overnight oats with apple sauce and cinnamon, it was really good! :)

YES! Love overnight oats--i also add apple sauce and cinnamon and chia seeds (i pretty much add chia and cinnamon to EVERYTHING lol)

Sounds delicious! Applesauce and cinnamon are definitely one of my favorite flavor combination during autumn! 😋

Looks delicious! Definitely my kind of oatmeal right there. We are going apple picking this coming weekend, so I can wait to use them in things like this. The perfect fall breakfast for sure!

Ooh have so much fun apple picking this weekend. It really is a fantastic activity.

love this recipe because I love apple, cinnamon and oatmeal too.. even baked apple with a bit crumbs and cheese is delicious, thank you for sharing @tlk

wow, nothing is better than fresh fruits and vegetables from your own garden.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99