Fruits and Veggies Monday - Eggplants

Eggplants are found in the produce department of every American grocery. They come in different varieties of shapes, sizes and colors. From large to small, round, oblong, long... from purple to white or even green.

9A8B8370-CF18-4CA0-97A6-1E40A18C699E.jpeg

The small ones are called Indian eggplants.

D75777AC-9DFC-4B8F-AC63-0B67A2C1DE42.jpeg

Below are the large, dark variety. They are popular in Europe.

DA658DE3-F15E-4FFC-9449-1D7BB49227F3.jpeg

And these are the long eggplants, called Chinese.

4D633DF1-5246-4663-9499-94788CF94571.jpeg

Why they are called eggplants? Because the first plants introduced to America were white and egg shaped.

So what are eggplants? Fruits or veggies? By botanical definition, eggplant is a berry, so it is a fruit, but it is considered a vegetable.

Either fruit or veggie, eggplant is delicious and it provides lots of health benefits. It is full of fiber, copper, manganese, B-6, thiamine and other minerals and vitamins. It also contains antioxidants that help prevent inflammation in the body.

Several studies found that consuming eggplants lowers the cholesterol, blood pressure and the risk of heart attacks. This is because eggplants contain antocyanins, which relax the arteries (antocyanins are also found in blueberries and strawberries). These antocyanins also help prevent tumors and the spread of cancer cells. They also protect brain cells by preventing neuroinflammation and facilitating blood flow, so they help with memory loss.

Eggplants contain fiber, and besides helping to lower cholesterol levels, fiber is good for weight management.

So how we prepare eggplants?

🔹First of all, when you buy eggplants you must make sure the skin is firm, not bruised or discolored.
🔹Keep them in the fridge until you are ready to use them.
🔹Use stainless steel utensils, otherwise eggplants turn black when cut.
🔹Sprinkle salt on eggplant slices to draw out moisture and bitterness. Let it sit about one hour and then rinse off the salt, pat dry, grill, bake or roast. Stay away from deep frying, as eggplants will absorb a lot of oil.

Do you need some ideas on how to incorporate eggplants in your diet? I use them as a side dish, sautéed in a little olive oil. I also grill them and make veggie burgers. Oven baked are yummy too. Simply sliced or breaded. Sprinkle Parmesan cheese and make Eggplant Parmesan.

Ohhh and Baba Ghanoush... you can google the recipe 😋 😜

That’s about it for today’s #fruitsandveggiesmonday challenge by @lenasveganliving

I hope I gave you the motivation to pay more attention to eggplants, they are so good for your health!

blackdividersmall.png

Follow me and my stories smallbest.gif

steemusabanner.png

Sort:  

I've seen the white egg shaped ones..
here in vietnam, there's plenty and they use it for pickle dish

Cool, never seen them. Thank you for reading my post. 😊

Love using this vegetable when it is in season so many ways to cook them up, always tasty.

My favourite in the pot or baked is ratatouille always a winner!

!tip

I am glad you eat eggplants, they are very good for health. Thank you for stopping by @joanstewart 😊

I love eggplant and the Chinese is my favorite! Great pics my Dear! 🍆😍🍆

01.jpg

Thank you! Honestly I never cooked the Chinese ones, only the big, dark eggplants. 😊

You learn something new every day. I would have never guessed an eggplant is a fruit! :)

I didn’t know either, until I made a little research for this post. I could swear eggplant is a veggie. But science says it is a fruit. 😊

I have never bene a fan of eggplant myself but my tastes have changed so I should try them I guess

never knew there were different types of them

I grew up with eggplant spread on fresh baked bread, something similar to Baba Ganush, it is very tasty. We mixed it with mayo and we serve it with roasted sweet pepper on the side. I bet you would like that. I am not a fan of baked or sautéed, but it is so good for health, we must eat it.

Yes I must try it for sure I am trying to eat Healthier these days

🎁 Hi @starjewel! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @joanstewart!

@joanstewart wrote lately about: Stay Near Me Do Not Fly Away Feel free to follow @joanstewart if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50