Fruits and Veggies Monday - Beet Soup Recipe

This week’s post is inspired by @plantstoplanks, thank you for giving me the idea! 🥰

The contest and challenge #fruitsandveggiesmonday by @lenasveganliving is a wonderful opportunity to share vegan recipes, I am so happy that I came across this tag. I really want to eliminate unhealthy food from my diet and this helps a lot. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

So... last week I shared a Russian potato and beets salad and the lovely @plantstoplanks made a sweet comment saying that she just had beet soup. Well... I had leftover boiled beets so... here it goes... I made soup. Delicious!

1D5920D6-F3C6-46EC-982A-44AD1BCB3E21.jpeg

Here are the few ingredients. Beets, onion, garlic, ginger, coconut milk, olive oil, limes, cilantro.

46C0CDBB-7498-41A3-9D0F-4AC240E79E3C.jpeg

As you can see, my beets soup has a Caribbean flavor. From Russian to Caribbean... beets are very versatile. Beets are largely consumed in the Caribbean islands because there are a lot of vegetarian and vegan people. Rastafarians for example are vegans, they eat ITAL food. I dont’t know why it is called Ital, probably short term from ‘vital’... we cut the words so much in the islands, it is so funny, I love the island life.

⚠️ The beets must be boiled, peeled and cubed. I used 2 large beets.

➡️ Chop onions, garlic, ginger. Sautée in olive oil until soft and cooked.
➡️ Add coconut milk and beets. Boil a few minutes. All the ingredients are cooked, so no need for long boiling, just to marry the flavor of the coconut milk.
➡️ Turn heat off. Add the lime juice, salt, pepper and chopped cilantro. I used 2 limes and a whole bunch of fresh cilantro.

8CCE378F-F769-4FC2-AFDF-F621C1276BB5.jpeg

Ready to serve, enjoy! I like to eat some crackers or pretzels with my beets soup. Optional 😋

35CEBD73-AB56-42D1-849E-95D66801C684.jpeg

blackdividersmall.png

Follow me and my stories smallbest.gif

steemusabanner.png

Sort:  

I'm going to prepare it looks very delicious. I like new culinary ideas.

Oh yay! This looks just as good as the salad! I love the Caribbean flavors in this. I have used beets in a curry with coconut milk before, but I love the idea of pairing it with the lime and cilantro, as well. Save me a bowl because my beet soup is gone! ;)

You got it girl 👧🥰 The lime/cilantro is the bomb!!!!

I love beetroot soups!

Try this recipe, it is divine. 🙂

I do love beets and a beet soup I know I would love

Another thing in common, OMG. You must try this recipe, it is unusual, with a delicate and refined flavor. I updated the original recipe that called for parsley, no lime. I prefer cilantro and I added the lime for some acidity. It makes a huge difference, I can eat a lot of this soup... til my belly burst... 😂😅🤣

I have book marked it and will for sure try it sometime ;)

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @ewkaw on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

In the fall me and my partner make borscht (beet soup, polish) in the fall when our beets are ready.. and I NEVER though of Adding coconut water/milk in and it sounds delish!!! We also like a dalop of sour cream when we're ready to eat a bowl. Mmmm now I'm craving borscht. I'll need to take one out of the freezer this week!!

wow it looks delicious my friend..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38