Fruits and Veggies Monday - Beet and Potato Salad Recipe

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

My contribution to #fruitsandveggiesmonday challenge hosted by @lenasveganliving is a beet and potato salad recipe that I learned from my mother. We used to call it ‘Russian Salad’, but I don’t know if it is Russian. I grew up in Romania, close by 😊, so it might as well be. I saw many versions of this recipe on the Internet. Mine is a little different...

Anyways... here is my dish, ready to serve:

8954F39F-3657-4265-A737-4E1F23F1ED64.jpeg

The ingredients are: beets, potatoes and carrots (cooked), celery, red onion, parsley, lime, sweet relish, vegan mayo, mustard. You can skip the vegan mayo if you don’t find it. I like to use it because it gives a creamier texture and binds the ingredients together. You can also use any other vegan dressing instead. The sweet relish I use is from the jars you can find in any USA supermarket. Back home we used pickled cucumbers in vinegar and no mayo.

Firstly, you boil the beets until they get soft. After they cool off, peel and dice them. Set them aside. You will mix them with the other ingredients just before you serve the dish, because the beets will make the potatoes and carrots RED and it doesn’t look very appetizing... I like to keep the cubed beets in a container with a lid, in the fridge. Any leftovers are welcome. I can use them next day in a different side dish.

1CC8913B-6CCF-4D8C-B879-DADDB3EA9105.jpeg

Potatoes 🥔 and carrots 🥕. Boil them, dice them.

6D0D9839-D544-47A2-981A-BF761C3C107F.jpeg

Celery stalks, red onion, parsley. Chop them up!

7CCFA65E-E0CE-4BAC-BA01-14A4E1408918.jpeg

Sweet relish, vegan mayo and mustard. Mix all the above gently. Add beets last. Add salt and pepper for taste.

F2503642-8FC1-4884-B2F3-996CB3E351B8.jpeg

I like to garnish with a few slices of lime and squeeze some on my salad. It is optional. Bonne Appetite!

4161E0D7-3A13-4257-9EDD-06F634A0CF6D.jpeg

blackdividersmall.png

Follow me and my stories smallbest.gif

steemusabanner.png

Sort:  

Yes, it is tasty, though it doesn’t look very appetizing, but there is nothing we can do. Those beets stain the other veggies. I really don’t mind that. I 💕 beets.

Ooh, good idea! I just made beet soup this week, but I don't think I've ever put them in a salad like this before. I think I'll have to give this a try soon. :)

You must try it, I am sure you will enjoy it. I have some leftover beets and I will make a soup tomorrow, thank you for the idea. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66