Fresh Arabic Delicacies on FruitsAndVeggiesMonday 🌴

🐪 One of the highlights of our Tour de Arabia this spring were the final days we spent in Salalah, a beautiful city in the south of Oman and the birthplace of the current sultan, Qaboos bin Said. The Sultan also lives in Salalah rather than in Muscat. Although the city has a hot desert climate, the summers are cooler than other parts of Oman. Because of its position at the borders of the Indian Ocean, Salalah has monsoon months inJuly and August, even though relatively little rain falls. I don't know whether that's why or are there other reasons, that there is a wide stripe in the middle of the city where the soil is relatively moist. Many palms and other plants can be found and the habitants of Salalah grow their fruits there. It is like a huge tropical fruit garden. You can find coconuts, papayas, bananas, and mangos. Along the roads through this area distributers ore maybe the gardeners themselves sell all these fruits at little wooden stands. The best thing they sell is the freshest coconut milk ever. They cut the coconut you choose right in front of your eyes with a kind of machete. If you are really lucky they have a fridge in the stand and the coconut comes right from it. Then the coconut milk is the most refreshing thing you can drink on a hot day in Salalah. After finishing the milk you give it back to the distributor and he cuts the nut into halves so you can eat the sometimes still jellylike translucent, sometimes the already white but still soft coconut pulp. Soo delicious and so nutricious and healthy! 🌴

I don't know what kind of fruit this is! Who knows it and can tell me something about how it tastes?

Coconut palm

The magic fridge: ❄️

We didn't know, if this was allowed or not but we drove through the fruit plantation on more or less good roads and paths. We wanted to see where the fruits come from:

Papaya trees and banana plants

Bye bye, Salalah!

This post I contribute with to @lenasveganliving's #fruitsandveggiesmonday brought back good summer holidays feelings and memories. Was a lot of fun! 🌴

Sort:  

congratulations for your 1st prize @pusteblume vv! Your post if full of exotism, I love it also !^_^okay.png

Beyond impressive my dear, I love this entry so much and I wish I was there!!! The palm trees, the fruits, the refreshing coconut and the weather, everything sounds and looks absolutely dreamy.

By the way, the mysterious fruit is Jackfruit, very popular amongst vegans as a meat substitute. I have one recipe, but I didn't make the most popular pulled porkless pork lol. I just need to buy fresh jackfruit for that and that is tricky, because it's hard to pick the ripe one here. They obvious transport them unripe to Canada, which is not the same as buying them ripe in their tropical habitat. In addition to that, they are huge. I used to buy them frozen, but that is not quite the same.

Anyway, thank you so much for this wonderful entry and good luck. I see prize on the way 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Aaahhhh! Yes, of course! It's a Jackfruit! In a documentary I've seen the jackfruit was huuuge! Maybe that's why I didn't recognized! 🙈 I never see the whole fruit around here anywhere, just canned or wrapped in plastic in tiny portions for a ridiculous amount of money. I wanted to try it out and when my favorite vegetarian restaurant downtown offered a vegan goulash I ordered it. It was good because of the sauce and the spices and the dumplings (I love dumplings!) but I don't have to have it on a regular base. I think it's overrated. The texture didn't convince me totally and then any prise is too high. I won't buy it myself in the foreseeable future.
I am happy you like my post! Have a nice day! 😘

CONGRATULATIONS! A WELL-EARNED AWARD! PLEASE CHECK THE WINNERS ANNOUNCEMENT POST, I HAVE AN IMPORTANT MESSAGE FOR YOU:
1.png

Wow! Amazing! Again? Thank you! 😍

Oh yes, I also bought the tiny portions in the past, but I don't remember the price, because it was my daughter who paid for it, lol. I will try to make the goulash maybe in the future.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @pusteblume to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hi nice post.

Let's like each other and Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89